Three Cheers for the Red, White, & Blue

Happy Monday!

And happy Memorial Day to my American friends!

AudOnesPrims USAFirecrackers
So of course today is a patriotic holiday for those of us in the U.S. A day to celebrate this great country of ours, and to honor and remember all of our service men and women, past and present.

AudOnesPrims USAFirecrackers2
Now I know I have mentioned this once or twice before, but I am a patriotic girl, through and through. Now that summer has “officially” started, it’s time to break out the red, white, and blue.

AudOnesPrims USAFirecrackers3

It’s been a quiet, rainy weekend here. Perfect excuse to hide away in the craft room, and whip up some new silly prims… like these little firecracker bundles.

AudOnesPrims USAFirecrackers4
Just a fun bowl filler for the summer months. Great individually or stacked up all together. These little guys have been hand-painted and antiqued, and even slightly charred. I made my own grungy tags, and then tied up each bundle with a big shabby bow. Huge thank you to my sweet bloggy friend, Lynn at From My Bungalow, for the adorable alphabet stamp set I used on the tags.

AudOnesPrims OldGloryFrame

Recently I got my hands on a few itty bitty wooden frames for some of my wee itty bitty stitchery. This Old Glory print, hand-stitched in my own messy handwriting onto tea-stained cotton canvas, seemed particularly fitting for this day. I used black floss to match the black finish of the frame. And on the background, I created a watercolor flag using Distress inks and paint.

AudOnesPrims OldGloryFrame2
These new goodies have been added to my Summer Shop, in case you are interested. You can find them, along with all the rest of my summer prims, here.

Thanks so much for stopping by! And to our country’s service men and women, our veterans, and all their families, thank you, for your dedication, service, and sacrifice!

15 thoughts on “Three Cheers for the Red, White, & Blue

  1. These firecrackers are fantastic, Audrey! What a great idea! The Old Glory stitchery is so sweet! You always have such amazing ideas. I need to check the shop more often–I missed out on that wonderful 4th of July pillow.

  2. Oh, such fun firecrackers with fab tags, Audrey! And, love the stitching with the framed project…amazing!!!

  3. These are so clever, and sweet! A perfect addition for summer decorating. I hope your summer is off to a grand start. We’re waiting for the rain to stop here in TX – swim season is getting a late start!

Leave a comment