A Santa Set with Authentique

This year, as every year, I find myself faced with my typical holiday card-making dilemma. The problem lies not in the making of cards, oh no… because I do have a stash of Christmas cards ready at hand. No, the problem is that the majority of them don’t seem to want to squeeze themselves into a regular envelope for easy mail-ability, no matter how hard I try.

AudreyPettit-Believe-MerryChristmasSet
Today, however, I’ve tackled that problem, and have a set of fun, festive, AND postage-friendly cards to share with you that I made with Authentique’s adorable holiday collection, Believe.

AudreyPettit-Believe-MerryChristmasSet2To me, one of the easiest ways to make cards in bulk is to use stamps and dies for the focal images. And good thing is, they keep things flat, too. The Santa and sentiment images are from Tim Holtz’s Retro Christmas stamp and die set. I threw in my favorite frame die from Papertrey Ink, as well.

AudreyPettit-Believe-MerryChristmasSet3

Paper is thin, so here’s where you can add lots of detail and definition without adding bulk. I used two solid Foundation papers for the bottom layers followed by one print. Machine stitching around the card edges is another way to add an extra pop of detail without adding thickness.

AudreyPettit-Believe-MerryChristmasSet4
Add a few sequins, and a simple knot of trim, and there you have it. A quick and easy card design that’s fun and cute and fits into a regular envelope, too. I’ve got a few more details up on the Authentique blog, if you’d like to learn more.

So how about YOU? Coming along on your holiday cards?

18 thoughts on “A Santa Set with Authentique

  1. Oh yes! I feel your dimensional pain! These are adorable cards. Love that they fit in a fragile envelope. The retro Santa and sentiment are the best! Thanks for the “flat” inspiration, it came at the perfect time! πŸ˜„

  2. These are adorable! I agree, making cards to fit in regular postage is hard! But, after individually packing and shipping dimensional cards years ago (and paying the ridiculous postage), this is my priority when making Christmas cards.

  3. These cards are so pretty. I love that jolly Santa. He is so special. I know what you mean about the mail. I made some box cards but they are oversized and bulky so I’m using them as decorations. But who wouldn’t love getting one of these beautiful ones. Love them!

  4. I love love this Santa Audrey~ I never make postage/mail friendly cards, but you have whipped some fabulous ones up here. I adore this and need to get on your Christmas card list! πŸ™‚ Seriously, you are going to bring many many smiles! What a treasure!

  5. Ha…I can so relate to the dilemma. So easy to pile on bows and buttons, etc. but it is really more challenging to make a mail-friendly,well-designed card. Your Santa cards are just perfect. I have a stash of cards that I have designed, now I have to go through and stamp sentiments inside.

  6. Just mailed some today. Although they were flat they still required more postage because they are rigid. Ugh! The P.O. is gonna get you one way or another. Making a batch now to give out at church. Your Santa’a are Ho Ho jolly! Hugs!

  7. So cute! I have this guy and love him! And your right , it’s so much easier to sent flat cards lol! You know I worry if they get to the reciepant in good shape lol!

  8. These are oh so pretty Audrey, you’re so clever! Love your use of this retro image and you have chosen the perfect colours to go with it. Wish I had access to my craft stuff, I still cannot craft much (although I’ve just finished something with stuff from our kitchen πŸ˜‰ Take care, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

  9. This is a wonderful way to make gorgeous christmas cards without getting into debt for the cost of sending them πŸ™‚ I love love love that cute Santa!

  10. Looks amazing Audrey- that little Santa is a dear little man! Even though you’ve made these cards in bulk, they still look classy by just a simple stitch around the edges and the few sequins and bow does the trick! I do hear you on finding the right envelopes though. I often get carried away by the product or a challenge and make a card, then think – ‘whoops, um, an envelope to fit, I do not have!’

Leave a Reply

