Countdown to Christmas- Day 24

Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.  The stockings were hung by the chimney with care, in hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there.

Happy Christmas Eve, everyone!  What a magical night it is!  After all these weeks of preparation, the long awaited moment is finally here.  I can still so clearly remember the excitement I felt on this night as a child.  I dreamed of seeing Santa Claus in person and insisted on sleeping out under the Christmas tree every year in hopes of catching a glimpse……but I never did.  And now this year, my little Nik tells me she is going to sleep on the couch so she can see Santa.  How hard I tried to stay awake all those long years ago, how heavy my eyelids would become, how I would tell myself I could close my eyes as long as I stayed awake listening………how it makes me smile to think of my daughter carrying on the tradition.

I have a few last Christmas things to share tonight.  My last Christmas card of the season.

Making Memories Mistletoe paper, K&Co. die-cut and rub, Webster’s Pages Ivory & Cream trim from the Elegant Trim Collection.

An early Christmas present I received from my sweet mom.  A gorgeous white feather tree to add to my tree collection.


This tree holds most of the hand-made ornaments that both the kiddos and I have made over the years. It holds their tiny fingerprint reindeer and wooden stick framed photos, clay cut-out snowmen, fun-foam creations and my scrapbooking ornaments from years past.  Treasures, each and every one of them.

And here are a few of my favorite handmade ornaments that I made back in 2005.  I enjoy these so much, I might have to make a few more next year.

Thrift store spoons turned into cute little snowpeople.  This is the pair I made for my kids.  They look pretty spiffy in their striped scarves and touches of Stickles bling.

These snowmen were made from acrylic paints and Stickles glitter.  No special treatment is needed to paint on the metal, nor is it necessary to seal the paints afterward. I just made two ball shapes from white paint, and after drying, I created the dots for the faces and buttons using the back of my small paintbrush.  Let dry between each stage as you add the rest of your finishing details.  Once the paint was completely dry, I applied brown chalk pastel to the edges with a Q-Tip.

I also made some country cousins to my city slicker snowmen.

Here is another Christmas present I got from my friend yesterday.  I became familiar with these Lori C. Mitchell figurines for the first time this Halloween, and I now have 3 Halloween pieces and this fun Christmas guy.   This is Tinker Twinkle, new for 2009.

I think he’s shocked to find himself stuck under glass.  Look at the expression on his little face.

And before I go tonight, I have one final project to share.  My brown paper bag gingerbread man Nik and I made together in an art class when she was 2.

Trace a gingerbread shape onto two flatted grocery bags.  Cut out, stuff with newspaper, and hot glue together. Paint and decorate and love forever. 🙂

Thank you so much for spending part of your Christmas Eve with me.  I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas day tomorrow with the special people in your lives.  Merry Christmas everyone!

6 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas- Day 24

  1. Merry Christmas dear friend! Funny your parents would let you sleep by the tree. I would be so afraid of being caught in the act! 🙂 That’s a lovely Christmas card….another familiar looking one! I think those spoons are way cute! I just might comb the second hand stores this year to find enough to make my 2010 ornaments with. Tinker Twinkle is sooooooooooooooooooooo dang darling! Love the look on his face! He really is fun! Yep he looks shocked to be stuck under your cloche! 🙂 Kathy

  2. Hi audrey, I am amazed with what I see at your beautiful home. all the pretty things for christmas and OMG the spoons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! too cute!
    I want to with you and your family a Blessed Christmas and have a wonderful time 😉 love,jaz

  3. I hope you had a very wonderful Christmas Audrey!!!! You always totally inspire me to pull out all those little decorations of the kids made with so much love-thank you for that!!!!! Have a good Christmas break with your family:)

  4. Can you tell me where to find your instructions for the feather snowman ornament you posted on Two Peas in a bucket 12/2009. Thanks

Leave a comment