Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 2- Folk Flowers Revisited

Hello, crafty friends! Happy Tuesday to you! Today I’m here to share my last project that I made for the Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 2 reveal. This time, I have another art tag to show that features the beautiful new cover plate background die, Folk Flowers.

If you popped in a couple of weeks ago, you may have seen the companion tag that I made in a very similar style. Whereas that tag used the Folk Flowers die as a stencil, adding Distress Grit Paste and Distress Embossing Glaze to create a raised surface… this time I layered the die cut panel onto a tag base to create recessed areas with all those negative cut outs. It’s another way to use a large background die to give a totally different look to the finished project.

Here in the close-up shot you can catch a better view of the recessed pattern. I used a Distress Embossing Pen to add embossing medium to the inside of each cut-out opening, and then filled the recessions with Distress Embossing Glaze. Once heated, the tag looks like it was enameled, like stained glass. It’s such a pretty technique, and so easy, too.

The top of the tag was smeared with a bit of Distress Grit Paste to give it an aged appearance and Distress Crayon was added to bring out the texture. I love how old and grungy it looks, like this tag has been around for a long, long time. I added leaf sprigs that are from the Funky Nature die set from Chapter 1. More lace and scallops and ribbon. The metal is an Idea-ology Quote Band.

Art tags are always great all on their own, but I added mine to a simple kraft gift bag for gift giving. Remove the clip at the top, and the tag comes right off and becomes part of the gift. I love two-fer projects like that.

That’s a wrap for my Chapter 2 projects from the YouTube Live reveal. In case you missed my other Folk Flowers art tag, you can see that HERE. Thanks so much for stopping by!


The supplies that I’ve used are linked and/or listed below:

Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Mixed Media Heavystock - Number 8 Tags - 20 Pack Idea-ology - Tim Holtz - 8 x 8 Kraft Stock - Classic Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Thinlits Die - Folk Flowers Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Thinlits Dies - Funky Nature Advantus - Tim Holtz - Idea-ology Collection - Quote Bands Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Antique Linen Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Old Paper Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Vintage Photo Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Crayons - Set 3 Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Embossing Glaze and Embossing Pen Set - Peeled Paint Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Embossing Glaze - Rustic Wilderness
Sizzix Stitched Ovals Thinlits Die Set
Stampin’Up Seam Binding Ribbon
Lace

2 thoughts on “Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 2- Folk Flowers Revisited

  1. Love it! The greens are so fresh for spring. Green and cream is a color combination I have always loved. Congrats on having your design showcased!

Leave a comment