A Touch of Patriotic Pride

Hi everyone! So happy it’s Friday today, and the beginning of our long 4th of July weekend here in the states. I always get a bit excited for a holiday. Those of you who have been following my blog for awhile probably already know I’m a fool for a special occasion. Any excuse to do a bit of decorating and spend some extra time with my family is a good time, in my book.

For today, I’d love to share with you all some peeks at my patriotic home decorations, including these fun crafty goodies I made this week.

Aren’t those pinwheels fun? I had such a good time making these for a project earlier that I decided to make some bigger versions for the 4th of July. They truly are a very simple process and take no time at all to create. I know some of you out there have templates for these, but once you see how easy they are, you will be whipping these out in whatever size suits your fancy, no template needed. If you missed my post, you can see all the step by step directions here.

I made my pinwheels using patterned papers from Webster’s Pages’ Home For the Holidays collection. I love that these versatile papers can be used for way more than just Christmas projects. I paired the papers with Webster’s trims and their gorgeous Bloomers, along with some shabby painted wooden chop-sticks stems.

If you’ve got kiddos around, this is a great project for them!

And now here’s a look at my dining room table, all decked out and ready for a party.

This table arrangement truly makes me happy.  I’ve combined some of my most favorite things here, including some vintage family pieces, a couple of recent antique store finds, handmade goodies, and brand new treasures just joining my collection.

Love these primitive wood pieces Mom and I found on her recent trip out here.  I knew as soon as I saw that red tool box that it would be perfect for the 4th.

I filled the tool box compartments with white petunias, wooden candlesticks and one of my brand new Lori Mitchell figurines.  Yup….I’m still addicted to those guys.

I layered an American flag table runner under my large wooden tray, and added a second flag for depth and color.  The Ball glass jars and the red glass vase were pieces passed down to me from my grandmother.  I am so lucky to have them. The barn star is a precious handmade gift I received from a friend last year. Thank you, Kathy!

Aren’t those figures adorable? I just cannot resist those little cuties. Why, oh, why, oh why did I ever stumble upon you………….

Sigh

Thank you so much for stopping by today and letting me share some of my patriotic goodies with you.  I hope you have a wonderful day!

11 thoughts on “A Touch of Patriotic Pride

  1. SCRUMPDILLIOUS!!!!!!! Is that a word??!! I {heart} Americana and antiques, as you know, so thanks for sharing your wonderful collections and precious pieces with us here in bloggity land! My family room is decorated Americana 365 days a year and I even decorate the Christmas tree floor to ceiling in Americana – love it!! Your display is stunning and I could just eat those pinwheels! Gotta make me some tooooooo 🙂 Happy 4th! Enjoy 🙂

  2. What a wonderful decorated table!! I LOVe that Uncle Sam and your pin wheels are scrumpdillious as Debbie says :-). I hope you have a wonderful fun filled holiday!

  3. I need to make some pinwheels. Yours are beautiful! Absolutely love your table arrangement. Those figurines are adorable! Thanks for letting us have a peek. Happy 4th of July!

  4. Oh Audrey…I adore the pinwheels…I wish I would have had the time to work on these with the boys….they would have loved them….I will keep this one on the to do list for the summer!!

    Your table setting is stunning..I always adore seeing how you decorate for the holidays…LOVE…..that tool box…made a perfect table scape!!!

    Wishing you and your wonderful family a very Happy 4th of July and thank you so much for your kind words..

    I so know what you mean with the fireworks and fear of setting us on fire…it is so dry here and we have the same thing…clean up after the weekend…last year a piece landed on Joe’s truck and burned the paint!!! OH JOY…why can’t they just go watch the fireworks…not set them off themselves!!! Love ya girlie!!!

  5. love your pinwheels~i heart bloomers. hee hee! love your festive decorations, audrey :)! that little uncle sam is adorable! thanks for sharing :)! have a wonderful 4th of july weekend! *hugs* steph 🙂

  6. awesome decorations for the 4th of July !!!!

    & those WP pinwheels have the most gorgeous centers too ! woot !

    Happy a fantastic long weekend !!!;)

  7. Oh Audrey! You have such a flair for decorating… a home and garden magazine is gonna try to snap you up one of these fine days… and all I have to say is… don’t forget to keep your blog up after they do!! PLEASSSSEEEEE! 🙂

    I just love the pinwheels…and how fun to have the kids join in to create them! While I get my grandsons to help me here and there … at three years old, we are limited to what they can do…but I certainly look forward to the day when they can help even more and I can show them the joys of making something beautiful and fun!

    Oh and I LOVE how you incorporated the toolbox… by the way…have you decided when you are going to auction yourself off for a charity yet?? hmmm??? 🙂 LOL.

  8. Audrey those windmills are `Gorgeous` Fabulous photos looks like your all having fun…
    Thankyou for sharing your beautiful house,you are a beautiful family!!!!

    Have a great 4th July:)xxx

Leave a comment