Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 3- Treat Bags

Happy Monday, crafty friends! Today I’m back to share the second project that I made for the Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 3 reveal on YouTube Live this past weekend. Once again, I’m turning to my favorite new set of the Chapter 3 release… the Switchlits Interchangeable Seal… to create a pair of prize ribbon sweet treat bags.

I have always been a sucker for packaging made from brown kraft paper, so these fun candy bags are right up my alley. And I do love the color red mixed with kraft, so that was the jumping off point of this project. The first step was stamping the bags with one of my favorite Tim Holtz background stamps called Flurry & Pine in my most favorite Distress color of all, Brushed Corduroy. The bags were then flicked with ink and Antique Linen Distress paint before being filled with crinkle paper and candy sticks. I used a combo of inked lace and pink twine to tie the bags closed.

From there it was simply a matter of making a prize ribbon topper using the Switchlits Seal set and some numbers and letters from the new Varsity Alphanumeric set, also from Chapter 3. I love mixing textures, so I added several layers to the center of the medallions combining hard and soft surfaces like paper, fabric, and an old antique pearl button. You’ll notice I used two different dies from the Seal set to cut out the rounds, one being the scalloped edge and the other the pinked. Candied Apple, Barn Door, and Abandoned Coral Distress inks on watercolor cardstock were used to die cut the seals from, and then the embossed raised areas were emphasized with Brushed Corduroy ink. I dry brushed Antique Linen paint onto the embossing, too. The Varsity letters and numbers were die cut from two different Kraft Stock cardstocks and then nestled back together. Then simple fishtail banners finish the design.

I really love how these turned out, and think they would be adorable in any color combo for any different occasion or holiday. And how ironic that I made prize ribbons when the name of the brand new color of Distress revealed on Saturday is Prize Ribbon! Honestly, I didn’t know! But how fabulous would these ribbons look in that blue? ❤


The supplies I used are linked and/or listed below:

 

Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Watercolor Cardstock - 8.5 x 11 - 10 Pack Idea-ology - Tim Holtz - 8 x 8 Kraft Stock - Classic Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Switchlits Embossing Folder and Dies - Seal Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Thinlits Dies - Alphanumeric Varsity Tim Holtz Cling Rubber Stamps FLURRY AND PINE CMS312 Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Brushed Corduroy Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Candied Apple Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Barn Door Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Archival Ink - 4 Pack Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pad - Abandoned Coral Tim Holtz Flip Top Distress Paint ANTIQUE LINEN Ranger TDF52906

Hero Arts: Printers Type Lower Alpha
Lace, Twine, Fabric, Buttons

 

One thought on “Tim Holtz Sizzix Chapter 3- Treat Bags

Leave a comment