2017 Tim Holtz Holiday Inspiration Series- Snowglobe Tag Set

Hi sweet friends, and happy Wednesday! It is a happy and busy week, with Thanksgiving right around the corner. And today is my birthday, too! Both my kiddos arrived home last night for the holiday weekend, so I am in full celebration mode already. And I am so excited to be here to share another holiday project from the 2017 Tim Holtz Holiday Inspiration Series with you. Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing a few moments here with me on the blog today!


I love putting together pretty gift packaging for the holidays, and one of my favorite holiday projects is making handmade tags. Tags are a perfect way to top off all those gift boxes and bags that come with the holidays, and they make a wonderful small gift for friends and family, too. This year, I’ve combined a few of my favorite Tim Holtz die sets to make my tags for the season, in a snowy village theme that I adore.


Don’t you just love the detail of those tiny village houses? They are from the new Snowglobe #2 Thinlits die set, part of the new 2017 Tim Holtz and Sizzix holiday release. Every individual section to these buildings have their own separate die, making it so easy to piece and layer the dwellings in a huge array of different color combos. And the tiny stars and moon and snowy hillside pieces come with the set, too. Talk about endless design possibilities.


For my tags, I created small village scenes nestled onto tags die cut from the new Gift Tags Thinlits die set. I began by adding a variety of Distress ink colors onto watercolor paper. Snowbanks were die cut from white cardstock using the Snowglobe #2 set, painted with Picket Fence Distress paint, and sprinkled with Clear Rock Candy Distress Glitter. I adhered the snowbanks to the watercolored paper, and then die cut the shapes with the Gift Tag set so that the snowy bottoms of the shapes were perfectly die cut with the rest of the tag. Added the tiny village pieces, and then layered the small tags onto larger ovals, die cut from an older favorite of mine, the Stitched Ovals die set.


The tops of the tags were tied with ribbon and rustic natural twine. And finally, I added a simple stamped sentiment and bit of die cut greenery to finish.

I hope my friends in the states have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday, surrounded by good food, good friends, and the love of family! Thanks for stopping by!


The supplies I’ve used are linked and/or listed below:

Ranger WATERCOLOR PAPER Inkssentials Surfaces ISW39532Tim Holtz Core'dinations DISTRESS ColorCore 12 x 12 Cardstock GX190000Tim Holtz Idea-ology TIDINGS Mini Stash 8 x 8 Cardstock Pack TH93325Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Alterations Collection - Christmas - Thinlits Die - Snowglobe 2Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Alterations Collection - Christmas - Thinlits Die - Gift TagsSizzix - Tim Holtz - Alterations Collection - Thinlits Die - Holiday GreensSizzix Tim Holtz Alterations Stitched Ovals Thinlits DieStamper's Anonymous - Tim Holtz - Cling Mounted Rubber Stamp Set - Simple SayingsMay Arts IVORY Twine String BurlapRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Paint - Picket FenceRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Stickles Dry Glitter - Clear Rock Candy - 3 OuncesRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Tumbled GlassRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Chipped SapphireRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Sprayer - 2 Ounces

Ribbon: May Arts

Save

Save

Save

Save

16 thoughts on “2017 Tim Holtz Holiday Inspiration Series- Snowglobe Tag Set

  1. Beautiful tags with the houses, Audrey! Such sweet scenes topped off with wonderful ribbon and twine! Happy Thanksgiving to you and family!

  2. Your tags are absolutely adorable dear Audrey!
    Love the colors, the distressed edges, the snowbanks …well everything really 😉
    xx

  3. First, let me say “Happy Birthday” and “Happy Thanksgiving”–both a little late here but not on social media! I love these adorable tags, Audrey! I just got the Gift Tag set and can’t wait to use them. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Hi Audrey – your tags are absolutely wonderful! Being a seasoned paper crafter, I should not have been floundering around so long trying to figure out how to make this snow globe! I was really frustrated to not be able to find any instruction videos on how to assemble – after 2 hrs of frustration, I finally realized the dies are numbered so I could figure out what goes together with what – I felt rather silly, but your tags helped.

    There is a you tube video from Prairie Paper & Ink that REALLY helped with her xyron tip with a similar tiny scene set: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hErqyJkHDs

    Could you maybe create one on this particular Snow Globe? I had hoped that Tim would create a detailed video of how to do this, but found nothing, if there is one available.

    Thank you for your inspiration!

    D. Prouty

  5. Great tags, Audrey! I love the way most of Tim’s new Christmas die sets can be used by the piece and mixed. You’re an expert at that. Thanks for always inspiring!!!! Your tags are wonderful!!!!

  6. It’s March 2021 but I’m new to Sizzix and planning to order the Snowglobe 2 die. Just want you to know your ideas are wonderful and I appreciate being able to see them all these years later.

Leave a comment