Inspired by Snow

Hi everyone!  Happy Sunday to you all!  And what a beautiful Sunday it is.  We still have a gorgeous carpet of snow on the ground and lots of bright sunlight to make everything sparkle.  Such a lovely combination.  The world looks so crisp and clear while the earth is wrapped in a blanket of white.  Have you ever noticed how quiet and peaceful the snow is, yet how the air is filled, if you listen very carefully, with the small sound of whispers?

I took my camera out early this morning to try to capture and preserve a piece of this beauty.

A view of my backyard.

The sled and winter wreath by my front door and the concrete lion on my driveway.

The shrubs out front

A self-portrait.

After I froze myself to the bone and got my fill of photos, I was struck by a recurring theme in what I seeing through the lens of my camera.  First of all, snow has a glow, like a giant brushstroke of glitter that paints the landscape.  And second, the neutral colors of the winter landscape really shine through with their own natural beauty.

I was thinking these thoughts as I wandered my way into my scraproom, and sat down right away to re-create what I saw outside.

4 You card: French Script stamp by Stampin’Up (2000). Ticket stamp by Club Scrap (2004).  Botanical stamp by Endless Creations, Inc.

Thank You Note: French Script stamp and the cardmaking clear stamps from Making Memories.

And you all remember these from the other day, right?  The vintage hat flowers I picked up at an antiques store…

Vintage Bird Card: French Script stamp and Nature Speaks clear stamps by My Sentiments Exactly.

You can see that I was totally inspired by nature and the colors white, kraft, brown, and gray.  What do you think?  Anyone up for a little challenge?  Come play along with me!

Just create any project, be it a card, scrapbook page, or altered object inspired by nature and using the above color combo.  Throw in a little sparkle and glam and a touch of your favorite trim and link your project back to this post by midnight EST on Feb. 14th.  I will put together a gorgeous goody package for the winner, including some of the vintage flowers you saw today. Check back later this week to see a photo of what you could win.

Sound good?  Can’t wait to see what you all come up with!  Happy scrapping!

9 thoughts on “Inspired by Snow

  1. Wow, Audrey! You captured a crisp winter’s day perfectly with your gorgeous card creations. How perfect is that flower on the card! I don’t know how to link anything and just fractured my wrist this week, but I intend to play along and see what I can do being somewhat limited right now.

  2. Oh Wow Audrey your photo`s are `stunning`…Your cards are flamin gorgeous..I so love those vintage hat flowers TFS
    and WoW your house is a dream TFS
    Have a lovely week:)x

  3. Wow Girl! Lovely snow photos and cards! It’s awesome how the colors outside inspired your crafting! Your cards are stunning! Great work! 🙂 Kathy

  4. oh my ! is it all frosty still over at your neck of the woods !!!

    Loving your neutral colored creations here too to reflect that mood . lol

    I am so loving neutral colors especially those found on Webster’s pps ! hint ! I have a fave WP layout to show very soon using the Home for the hols line I think.

    & Jan has been so surprising crafting wise – I kept complaining I think about things being low keyed & all – but what do you know , now it’s Feb & I suddenly find myself on 6 DTs up from the 2 that I started the year with !

  5. Your photos are absolutely beautiful Audrey! Can you believe we might get more this weekend! Loving the winter white of your projects, especially the card you createdwith the beautiful vintage flower you got from the antique store, your card is stunning! Have a great week!

Leave a comment