Countdown to Christmas- Day 18

Day 18 realization…………

we have exactly one week until Christmas…..

And I have not finished my shopping, my baking, my wrapping, or my making of the Christmas cards….let alone my mailing of the Christmas cards.

Not good.

My day 18 challenge to self……

Make some Christmas cards that don’t take you all day to make and don’t have embellishments too thick to mail in a regular envelope.

And that’s kinda hard for me, guys.  I have an urge to keep adding pretties to every card, and I haven’t been happy lately unless each card is about a 1/2″ thick.  I want to add big bows and little jingle bells and lots and lots of pop dots.  And the post office does not seem to appreciate these extra, special little touches.

So this is the challenge I gave myself this afternoon.  To create some fairly easy, fairly flat cards that I could quickly get out in the mail.  I only allowed myself the use of pop dots, and used up some scraps of Making Memories Mistletoe papers and remaining embellishments to create 2 sets of 2 cards.

Same card base, just a different felt embellishment.  The Happy Holidays greetings I cut directly from the patterned paper.

Again, the same card base.  I cut the tree images and greetings from the paper.  And on this set, I used the Mistletoe cardstock stickers behind the trees.  I also added a little extra detailing with some machine stitching and touches of Stickles glitter.

Making multiple cards from the same basic design is a trick I utilize often when trying to make many cards at one time.  Why keep re-inventing the wheel?  And besides, this saves my brain cells. 😉

Thanks so much for stopping by everyone!  See you all tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas- Day 18

  1. LOL…Audrey, the postmaster and I have “in depth” conversations about the added bulk of embellishments everytime I mail one of my cards. She always “encourages” me to place each card between two thin sheets of cardboard, to which I argue, then the postage will cost more 🙂 It is an ongoing debate and I love it that others share my desire to add, add, add those special touches that make our cards so “special.” Love these that you have created. Happy mailing 🙂

Leave a comment