Glue Arts and Pinterest

This week, we are having so much fun on the Glue Arts blog , “pinning”  photos from the photo sharing site Pinterest, and using those photos as the inspiration for a project. With all the decorating, designing, and craft ideas floating around on Pinterest, the creative possibilities are endless. My only problem was picking just one inspiration photo. 🙂

Original Pinterest link: http://pinterest.com/pin/4100510/

As many of you already know, I am a HUGE fan of Halloween. Love, love, love all things sweet, spooky, creepy, ghoulish, and fun about this holiday. I absolutely adore this amazing dining room wall I found while searching through the pages of Halloween  photos on Pinterest. I had already had a similar idea of using Glue Arts Accent It All Vinyl to add some festive accents around my house. Now after being inspired by this amazing room, I, too, have a festive and spirited look in my Halloween home.

All I needed to complete this project was 3 sheets of Blackout Accent It All Vinyl and some free bat templates from the internet. I simply traced my bats onto the back of the 12×12 vinyl sheets, and trimmed them out. A much easier task for those of you with die cutting systems. But for me, just a couple of hours in front of the TV, and all my bats were ready to go.

I used a variety of sizes so that I could get the look of the bats flying off into the distance. Started with the biggest bats on the right, and wrapped them around the room in decreasing size.

Peel. Stick. Done.

So fast and so easy! And the best part is, the vinyl is easily re-positionable, making perfect placement a snap.  If you don’t like where you put something, peel it back up, move it, and stick it on again. The vinyl will cling to almost any surface including walls, windows, mirrors, painted and glossy surfaces, cabinetry, frames, computers….you name it! And, it’s completely re-usable! So I plan on storing my bats on sheets of wax paper and using them again next year. I SO love that!

As a matter of fact, I loved this idea so much, I made a few more bats for my bathroom mirror.

My head is spinning with ideas….

For more great Pinterest project ideas, be sure to visit the Glue Arts blog. Leave a comment while you are there, and you just may win a Glue Arts Adhesive Embellishment Kit, filled with a fabulous array of adhesives, glue squares, Raisin’s and U Cut It foam. Perfect for all your crafting needs.

Sharing today with Show & Tell Friday at My Romantic Home and Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Wishing you all a wonderful day.

28 thoughts on “Glue Arts and Pinterest

  1. Ha! You just couldn’t stay away from Pinterest, huh? 😉 Very cool project! I was thinking of a similar decor idea…rat silhouettes around the staircase! I think that’s a Martha idea?

  2. I LOVE your bats!!! That is the cutest idea ever and it looks so wonderful with your Halloween decorating! I am loving your basket of pumpkins, it is FABULOUS!! Can’t wait to see more!!

  3. I am BATS about it!… sorry… could not help myself! I am getting ready to do my house.. but think I am going with mice this year.. such an irony since I spent all summer trying to keep mice out of our grain and seeds!

    Maddie

  4. Oh, how spooky and fun!!! Love all those bats on your windows and even on your bathroom mirror! It certainly looks like Halloween in your house! Thanks for sharing this wonderful idea! Take care!:-))

  5. Your post made me smile at how much you love Halloween! I probably love the 4th as much as you love Halloween, so I get it!!! I love what you did in your home to make it more batty!!! 🙂
    e.

  6. Wow Audrey!!! Your deco looks so fantastic girl!!! Just love all the bats and the sweet pumpkins!!! I always LOVE looking at your home decor!!!

  7. This is soooo fun & festive Audrey! Vinyl is so much fun to work with. Now you are getting me in the mood to decorate for Halloween. 🙂

Leave a comment