A Dream Valentine

Some of you may know this little secret about me already. I am a huge fan of making stuff from old shopping bags. Not only do I love me some kraft paper, but I see endless possibilities for making cool projects from the larger canvas size of a paper bag. Besides that, I just get a kick out of recycling things.  Being in a lovey-dovey frame of mind lately, I decided to make myself an up-cycled, funky junk paper bag Valentine.

Pulled out some of my favorite things for this. Sheet music, vintage lace I bought last summer at an antiques store, and old buttons that once belonged to my grandmother. I love using truly special things on a special project.

Did you notice I used my stamps, too?  Stamped some distressed dots  around the edge of the kraft heart.  So far, I’m keeping up with my pledge to use those stamps more. I think I get extra bonus points for that.

My favorite part, though, has got to be that adorable clown Valentine image from The Graphics Fairy. I added just a touch of glitter to her hearts and tucked her into a pocket. Layered the whole onto a pair of Nestabilities shapes and tied it all up with brown baker’s twine.

The accordion-fold rosette is made from more recycled paper bag, edged with a touch of white ink. I added a pin and sentiment to finish things off.

Sewed two kraft hearts together partway and stuffed them with tissue paper to create a pillow effect before stitching closed completely. Now my Valentine is tough enough to stand the test of time.

If you promise not to tell, I’ll share another secret on how I made the pattern for my heart. Do you all remember making paper hearts in grade school by folding paper in half and drawing only half the heart? Well do that……and use this nifty trick for tracing a perfect curve at the top.

My gosh, right? Brilliant! That Audrey is a genius! Sooooo high tech. Not to worry, though.  I do believe that YOU can do it, too! 🙂

Supplies:
Ivory Buff cardstock, Pre-cut chipboard, Brown Baker’s Twine and Uniquely Handmade rubber stamp: The Kraft Outlet
Image: The Graphics Fairy
Pin: Tim Holtz
Dies: Papertrey Ink and Nestabilities
Stamp: Unity
Ink: Clearsnap
Vintage and Recycled: kraft shopping bag, sheet music, lace, buttons

34 thoughts on “A Dream Valentine

  1. You are indeed brillant, Audrey! I love this–so many treasured, sweet items that make it extra special! Love that stamp on the back, too.

  2. You are soooo crafty! Love what you did and thanks for stopping by my place and I especially appreciate your leaving a message. Hope you come back and I’ve added you to my list of blogs over on my place, but don’t see a ‘follow me’ here. Popping over to your Etsy site, can’t wait to see what else you do!

  3. Wow Audrey! This is absolutely adorable!! I love how you recycled the bag and made it into a beautiful Valentine! I usally just throw my bags on the ground for the cats to play in, I might have to save one next time for me! I love how you stuffed it with tissue paper, it is so creative! Have a great day!

  4. Gorgeous! Love that you used your grandma’s button (precious), and the recycled bag! I love the distressed edges and the accordian pleats. As always, I am inspired!

  5. WOW!! This is absolutely wonderful.. You didn’t miss a single detail. What a wonderful keepsake. For now on I am asking for paper not plastic at the store….

    Hoping you have a happy day!! Hugs, Linda

  6. AAAAHHHHH GORGEOUS PROJECT ALERT!!!! LOVE this Audrey. What a sweet idea and now you can display it with all of your other beautiful VD things. I hope you have a fabby day girlfriend. Check your mailbox…there just might be a surprise coming. {hugs}

  7. yummy vintage goodness, audrey! such a gorgeous heart “pillow”. i heart it! from the vintage image to the vintage keepsakes…amazing! thanks for sharing and hope you have a lovely evening! *hugs* steph 🙂

  8. I nearly fell off my chair :). I just keep staring at this handmade beauty; into my favorites folder it goes!! 🙂
    Beautiful; I”m smitten…what more can I say?

  9. Audrey, this is such a lovely project! I love the combination of elements and techniques! I’ve also really enjoyed reading past posts and am looking forward to reading more! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your sweet comments about my collage!

  10. Oh my girl…This one is absolutly stunning (all your projects are) But i just love it when you can recycle old stuff into lovely,pretty new ones!!!
    Thumbs up for using stamps from your stash..*lol*
    Have a very happy day!

Leave a comment