It’s Hip to be Square

Good morning everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  We’ve been having such beautiful weather here in NC that I can’t help but be drawn outdoors these days.  Spent as much time as I could this weekend either out on my back deck, or out in the yard, or taking my sweet pup for walkies.  These are the kinds of days I wish I could put in a bottle and capture forever.

Today we have a new challenge for you over at The Shabby Tea Room.  This week’s challenge, entitled “It’s hip to be Square” is to incorporate squares into your card or project, the more the better.

I had so much fun with this one trying to add as many squares as I could.  I ended up with 11 on this card.  The card base itself is a 5×5 square, and then I added 9 more squares of patterned paper in the center.  All the paper is from the new Life’s Portraits 6×6 Petite Paper Pad by Webster’s Pages.  My 11th square is that beautiful fabric quote from Webster’s new Life’s Portraits collection of Fabric Fancies.

I used my 1.5″ square punch to create the smallest 4 squares on my card, and then created 1.75″ squares to layer them and added some machine stitched edging.  These 4 squares were then mounted onto a 4″ square and centered on my card.

I stitched on the Fabric Fancy and added one of Webster’s gorgeous new Vintage Sparklers and some houndstooth decorative tape from Pink Paislee.

I created my flower from the houndstooth tape that I folded in half, pleated, and stitched into a circular shape.  Onto that I added a bow of light green organdy and a gorgeous olive flower from Webster’s new Bloomers.

Oh, my word, but I am in love with these Bloomers!  They are so gorgeous, and so well made.  Each flower is stitched in place on the backside of the ribbon which means that they do not fall to pieces or unravel when cut apart.  How genius is that?

I hope you’ll stop by The Shabby Tea Room and check out the fabulous cards the other design team members created, as well as inspiration from this week’s guest designer, Dana Gustafson.  We have a wonderful prize up for grabs, donated by this week’s hostess, Nicole Segnere.

Thanks so much for stopping by!  I hope you all have a marvelous Monday!

10 thoughts on “It’s Hip to be Square

  1. Oh my Audrey! This is so gorgeous! I LOVE your layers, layers, layers and the webster’s bloomer is fab. Thanks for the details on those…I will keep my eye out for those at my LSS. SO pretty! I had a ton of fun being a part of the Shabby Tea Room this week. You gals are a talented bunch!

  2. What a beautiful card, Audrey! Love all the details. I can’t wait to get my hands on those bloomers! Love how this one just pops on the card!

  3. Audrey, I’m a frequent Tea Room guest and wanted you to know I’ve really been admiring your contributions! I am impressed that with this card, you could take so many bold patterns and create such a soft beautiful look! Thanks also for sharing the photos of the Bloomers. I’ve seen them used on projects lately but didn’t imagine they were sold on those “spools”. Now I know why I always see them in rows! (duh, Geri) I also wanted to say, your photos of your projects are SO nice. Do you have any tips to share, especially concerning the setting of your camera to get the “vague” background? I was thinking the aperture (spelling?) was key with that, but I haven’t had much luck fooling around with it. Haven’t tried a lot, because I haven’t had a lot of extra time. If you ever get a few minutes to share any helpful hints and don’t mind, I’d love to hear from you! Thanks and keep up the beautiful work in the Tea Room!

  4. Audrey….this card is bea-u-tiful! I love this line of Websters
    Pages. I have some of the papers but have yet to see any of the embellishments. After seeing your card – I can’t wait. You tied everything in just beautifully! Great job! 🙂

    Cathy

Leave a comment