May Flowers with Photo Play Paper

Hi sweet friends, happy Monday!
And a very happy Memorial Day to those in the States!


With just a few days left in May, it hit me that I had better hurry up and share this altered frame project that I made for Photo Play Paper. This is a mix of their adorable Bloom and Hoppy Easter collections, dressing up an old 5×7 desk frame for the spring season.


This pretty Bloom journaling card is my favorite from the collection, so wanted to use it for the focal point in this home decor. I matted the card on crisp white cardstock, and added a bit of machine stitched detailing around the edge to help it pop, before layering it onto a polka dotty background. I like to remove the glass from my frames so that I can build up the layers without worrying about space. Love the 3D effect you get with just a little bit of foam adhesive. Creates a bit of a shadowbox look, don’t you think?


The frame was originally plain brown wood, which didn’t really fit the design. So I added a quick whitewash of paint, and then adhered thin strips of patterned paper to the thicker edges. White pearl buttons jazz up the corners. All finished off with a simple twine bow.

 P.S.-
I’m kicking off summer here in my shop on Wednesday, May 31st with a nautical-themed mini release. This release is small, but packed with bright summer vibes and the cutest little sea creatures ever! My shop will be open just one week, before it closes for summer vacation, so if you’re interested, be sure to shop early!


AudOnes Prims Summer Mini-Release
Opening May 31st, 2017 @ 10:00 a.m. EST

Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope you all have a wonderful day!


The supplies I’ve used are linked and/or listed below:

Photo Play Paper - Hoppy Easter Collection - 12 x 12 Collection PackPhoto Play Paper - Bloom Collection - 12 x 12 Collection PackNeenah Classic Crest 80 LB SMOOTH SOLAR WHITE Paper Pack 25 SheetsTherm O Web 3D MOUNTING SQUARES White Foam 3777

Other: Buttons, Twine (The Twinery)

10 thoughts on “May Flowers with Photo Play Paper

  1. Cool! Using that frame with the complimenting papers for the journaling card makes for a delightful home decor piece. Lots of cheeriness in this one. Hugs and happy Memorial Day!

  2. A beautiful framed project with the polka dot boot, Audrey!! Lovely papers and sweet buttons and twine! I see a sneak peek to some love summer makes…can’t wait to see!!

  3. Ohhhhhhhhh man!! I hope I can remember to sign into your site at work tomorrow!! you KNOW Brookie loves and lives for nautical!!! I loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeee this! LOVING the colors and that rain boot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

