Lamppost Lantern Box with Sizzix & Tim Holtz

Happy Friday, Crafty Friends!

Today I have a DIY home decor project to share that I made with the adorable Lantern Box Bigz die from the new Sizzix Tim Holtz spring 2017 release. Recently I shared a fun garland home decor project featuring these lanterns. And now I’m back with a different look and new idea for using the lantern to create quick and easy home or party decor.


These little lanterns are so easy to create, and I love that they are the perfect size for holding battery-operated tea-light candles. This time, I die cut my lantern from crisp black cardstock, and lined the interior of the windows with clear acetate. A bit of Picket Fence Distress Crayon rubbed along the creases and edges adds a bit of shabby charm. If you’d like to see step-by-step directions for assembling this lantern die, check out my tutorial on the Sizzix blog here.


Love the versatility of this cute lantern. Last time I hung several from a string of twine to create a garland, and here I added a simple pedestal made from a stack of wooden spools painted with Black Soot Distress paint. Now this lantern reminds me of the lamppost from the Chronicles of Narnia series. Am I right there?


To dress up my lamppost I added ivy greenery from the Garden Greens Thinlits die set. I die cut the greens from watercolor paper and then watercolored the leaves with Distress ink. Picket Fence Distress paint was added to the edges of the leaves for that variegated look ivy so often has. And finally, a bird charm from the Idea-ology Treasures Adornments was tied to the top with twine.

Thanks so much for stopping by! And wishing all my fabulous mom friends out there an absolutely wonderful Mother’s Day weekend! ❤


The supplies I’ve used are linked and/or listed below:

Therm O Web - Premium Cardstock - 8.5 x 11 - Black Onyx - 12 SheetsRanger WATERCOLOR PAPER Inkssentials Surfaces ISW39532Gary M Burlin and Co Embossable Window Plastic Clear Acetate Sheets 6 sheets 7x9Sizzix - Tim Holtz - Alterations Collection - Bigz L Die - Lantern BoxSizzix - Tim Holtz - Alterations Collection - Thinlits Die - Garden GreensAdvantus - Tim Holtz - Idea-ology Collection - Adornments - TreasuresRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Paint - Picket FenceRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Paint - Black SootTim Holtz Distress Ink Pads - Shabby ShuttersRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Crayons - Set 3

Twine, Spools

8 thoughts on “Lamppost Lantern Box with Sizzix & Tim Holtz

Leave a Reply

