The Montgomery Necklace with Tim Holtz Assemblage

Happy Wednesday, Crafty Friends!

Image result for tim holtz assemblage

I am so excited to share this post with you all today! You may remember me mentioning once or twice over the past couple of months that I’ve been trying my hand at a new hobby, jewelry making.  So you can imagine how happy I was to hear that Tim Holtz was coming out with his own line of jewelry supplies! Of course I couldn’t wait to get my hands on these new products, and today I am thrilled to share my first ever Tim Holtz Assemblage jewelry design.


I am calling this piece my Montgomery necklace, after the Tag Charm that I used here, and I truly just adore how it turned out. There is so much to love about this new product line, it’s hard to know where to start. First of all, the finish and quality of these pieces are phenomenal, with a bit of glitz and glam mixed with that vintage aged feel we all know and love from the Tim Holtz line. And all these products are nickel and lead free. Absolutely must-haves for jewelry.


As crafters, we all like lots of choices, and another thing I love about the Assemblage line is all the choices that are available, including absolutely everything you need to complete any jewelry project, from chains to findings to charms and links and tokens and more. This particular necklace is pieced from three different chains, with lots of beautiful details in between. I think it looks pretty cool, and seriously, this was so easy, you won’t even believe. I’ve taken lots of close-ups photos so that you can see all the individual pieces and details, and I’ll try to mention each part as we go.


With so many amazing charms to choose from, it was too hard to pick a favorite, so I added quite a few. And truly, it’s as easy as opening and closing a few jump rings. For the chain, I started with Gunmetal Loop at the top, cut from the original 36″ to about 18″ with one snip of a wire cutter. Next comes a Faceted Gems Charm, attached with a jump ring, followed by a Gemstone Flower Link. To add interest, next I attached two links from the Pink Rosary Chain.


After the Pink Rosary Chain is the amazing Bouquet Charm, attached on either end with jump rings, followed by one more link of Pink Rosary. Then I added a 3″ section of Gunmetal Link Chain, which is similar in finish but different in shape to the first Gunmetal Loop. The Gunmetal Link chain comes with the lobster clasp, which I used to connect to the next section.


Attached to the lobster claw jump ring are two fun dangle charms, one small Sparkling Rondell, and a pearl from the Diamonds & Pearls charms. Then the namesake, the Montgomery Tag Charm.


After that is a little more repeat of elements to create some balance. First, another Gemstone Flowers Link, followed by Pink Rosary Chain, attached to the other end of the Gunmetal Loop chain.


The toggle clasp comes attached to the Gunmetal chain, so super easy finishing. And with the leftover chain parts from this project I was able to complete two additional bracelets and am working on another necklace, too, which I’ll share another time.

Remember all Tim Holtz Assemblage products are available through Joanne Fabric & Craft stores or online at joann.com, and now through Simon Says Stamp, as well.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day!


The products I used are linked below:

Tim Holtz Assemblage 36 INCH GUNMETAL LOOP CHAIN THA20007Tim Holtz Assemblage 18 INCH GUNMETAL LINK CHAIN THA20006Tim Holtz Assemblage 18 INCH ROSARY CHAIN PINK THA20011Tim Holtz Assemblage BOUQUET CHARM THA20020Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 3 GEMSTONE FLOWERS LINKS THA20032Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 4 FACETED GEMS CHARMS THA20029Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 3 TAGS CHARMS THA20048Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 12 DIAMONDS AND PEARLS CHARMS THA20028Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 8 SPARKLING RONDELLS CHARMS THA20046Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 12 LOBSTER CLAW CLASPS ASSORTED THA20051Tim Holtz Assemblage PACK OF 60 JUMP RINGS FINDINGS ASSORTED THA20063

22 thoughts on “The Montgomery Necklace with Tim Holtz Assemblage

  1. LOVE this especially since Montgomery is my maiden name. 😉 But seriously, the fun and funky look of assemblage really shines in this piece. Another bit of fabulousness from Audrey! 😁

  2. Audrey I am impressed by your talents. Cardmaking, giftwrapping, home decorating, jewelry. The list is endless. And evey single piece made by you is gorgeous. You have a talent for adding gorgeous details and I LOVE it! This necklace is a true gem!

  3. Hello. Lovely piece!! Question, is the card in the center of your blog heading posted anywhere? It looks lovely and I’d love to see the entire thing. Thanks much!!

    • Hi Sheila! That card you mention is actually a sneak peek of a project that will be posted on the Ranger Ink blog next week. I’ll share a link to the full tutorial on my blog then. 😊

      • Awesome, thanks so much!!! I truly love your work. You inspire my creativity! Thanks again!!

      • Thank you so much, Sheila! What a sweet thing to say! You just totally made my day!

  4. Oh, my goodness!!! A lovely piece of art, Audrey! Love the gemstone flowers, pearls, and tag! Such an amazing vintage necklace, love it!!!

  5. How cool and what a perfect fit for your recent jewelry making hobby. Love the old fashioned feel of these pieces. Makes me think of looking through my grandma’s jewelry box. 🙂

Leave a Reply

