Creativation 2017- Life is Wonderful with Tim Holtz

Hiya Crafty Friends! Happy Wednesday!


Today I have another one of my Tim Holtz Creativation show projects to share, and this time, it’s something a little bit different. I know you all have seen me playing with this fabulous new Scroll Bigz die on several projects I’ve shared already. But today I’m bringing the Scroll die out of the background accent pieces and into the spotlight with this shabby altered home decor panel.


I’ve really loved using the Scroll die cuts as flourishes and leafy green accents mixed with floral bouquets, but for this project, I wanted to show how you can use these pieces all on their own, too. And since the Scroll die is a Bigz die, that means you can die cut all sorts of materials besides your standard paper, like the chipboard I used here, die cut and stacked up three deep for lots of depth and dimension.


I find that I have certain colors that I tend to gravitate to over and over. But for this project, I challenged myself to use Distress colors that I often overlook, and I’m so glad I did. I really love this combo of Wilted Violet, Blueprint Sketch, Faded Jeans, and Weathered Wood, applied in a watercolor wash over the surface that was pre-coated first in a layer of paint. I added some stamping to the scrolls in matching Distress ink, and then finished with Glossy Accents once everything was dry.


I love how the vibrant color of the scrolls pops against the neutral background. That is some of the new Memoranda Paper, brushed with paint, inked, splattered, and stamped, on one of the backing boards from the new Mini Framed Panels. New Idea-ology tissue tape on the edges, and a bit of Distress marker work to create a frame.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a very wonderful day!


The supplies I’ve used are linked below:

RESERVE Tim Holtz Idea-ology MINI FRAMED PANELS Structures TH93582RESERVE Tim Holtz Idea-ology 12 x 12 Paper Stash MEMORANDA Paperie TH93550Ranger WATERCOLOR PAPER Inkssentials Surfaces ISW39532Tim Holtz Core'dinations DISTRESS ColorCore 12 x 12 Cardstock GX190000RESERVE Tim Holtz Sizzix SCROLL Bigz Die 661816 Tim Holtz Sizzix DAILY WORDS BLOCK Thinlits Die 661180Tim Holtz Cling Rubber Stamps REFLECTIONS CMS111Tim Holtz Idea-ology FRENCH Design Tape Paperie TH93355RESERVE Tim Holtz Idea-ology CLIPPINGS Stickers Paperie TH9358328 Lilac Lane ATTIC FINDINGS Embellishment Kit LL103Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Paint - Picket FenceTim Holtz Distress Ink Pad WILTED VIOLET Ranger TIM43263Ranger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Blueprint SketchTim Holtz Distress Ink Pad FADED JEANS Ranger TIM21452Tim Holtz Distress Markers WEATHERED WOOD Ranger TDM32755Ranger Inkssentials GLOSSY ACCENTS Glue Dimensional Adhesive GAC17042Sizzix - Big Shot Plus Machine - White and GraySizzix Big Shot Kick STANDARD CUTTING PADS 1 Pair 655093Ranger MINI ROUND INK BLENDING TOOLS IBT40965Ranger Studio Paint ARTIST BRUSHES Brush BRU40842

11 thoughts on “Creativation 2017- Life is Wonderful with Tim Holtz

  1. You really brought that scroll piece to life with the stamping and inking techniques you used. I love that you challenged yourself to use the cool tones on this pieces. It is just beautiful!

  2. It’s lovely! I’ve been using a lot of purple lately, which I never do. I remember seeing one of your purple projects just “pop” and it inspired me to try it!

Leave a Reply

