A Frosty Friend with Therm O Web

Happy Friday, Crafty Friends!

My scrappy group has a fun annual holiday tradition. Every December we get together and do a big potluck brunch, and everyone brings a handmade gift to exchange. Oftentimes we just draw numbers to see who gets what package. But this year, we did one of those snatch and steal games where everyone gets one chance to take someone’s gift. That simple act brought a whole new element into the game, I tell you what. I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time.

audreypettit-thermoweb-frostybellssnowman
Of course this party was the perfect excuse to craft up one of my favorite fabric prim creations. This is the little friend that I made… a wee frosty snowman, all dressed up for Christmas.

audreypettit-thermoweb-frostybellssnowman3
Recently I scored some vintage Jello molds at my local junk store, and I thought they would be a great container for my little guy. Love that he can now stand upright without toppling over, and it was just the right size for building a snowman and adding a few fashion accessories.

audreypettit-thermoweb-frostybellssnowman2
The snowman is made from my favorite fabric for frosties, Therm O Web Stitch n’ Sew fleece. I made the hat, eyes, and coal buttons from felt, and the arms from chenille stems. A hand-stitched mouth, and a nose carved from wood. I gave him a candy cane and pine-bough wreath to hold. And finally, doused him in a good coat of flaky mica glitter.

I do love making snowmen at the holidays, and I’m so happy with how he turned out. This little guy was snatched twice at the party, so I think he went over well. I’ve got the complete step-by-step tutorial for him up on the Therm O Web blog, if you’d like to learn more.

festive-friday-giveaway-2

And interested in winning some of the Stitch n’ Sew fleece I used to create your own holiday snowmen? Then be sure to enter this amazing giveaway while you are there!

Thanks for stopping by, Friends! How are your holiday preparations coming along?  I finally finished my tree yesterday, so now the bulk of my decorating is done. One thing out of many to check off that list. Baby steps, right?


12 thoughts on “A Frosty Friend with Therm O Web

  1. Oh, what an adorable vintage snowman, Audrey!! I can see why it was snatched up twice!! Glad you had lots of fun at the party with your craft friends…how fun!! Take care and Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

  2. He is adorable!
    I was hunting and searching for my collection of vintage jello molds and tart tins to make into Christmas ornaments, and could not find them anywhere!!

  3. Ohhhhhhhhh he is ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!!! I love that you added the mold too! I just found some of those last weekend while antiquing!!! And I NEED to remember to send you this HILARIOUS holiday game exchange instructions that we did at work one time …. It’s a stealing game, but OH SO MUCH more! I have it saved on my work computer, and will remember to email it to myself on Monday and send it your way! I think you and your friends WOULD LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

  4. He is too cute! What a smart idea to use the jello mold as a stand! I scored a great deal on some of those at a resale shop and use them to sort bits and buttons etc. Your gathering sounds like a ton of fun!

  5. Awwww….he’s a cutie…no wonder he got snatched twice. That game sounds super fun….hope you snatched up something awesome too!

    Trying to finish up stuff before the end of the year, start on CHA projects…and catching up on blog commenting….loads to do!

Leave a Reply

