Pumpkin Parts Pillow Tucks with Sizzix- a Tutorial

Hello, Crafty Friends! Thanks so much for stopping by!

It’s still awfully hot outside, but I am in full-on fall crafting mode here at my house. Once school starts, it seems rather official…. summer is over, and fall has begun. Regardless of the temperatures outside. 😀

AudreyPettit Sizzix PumpkinPartsPillowTucks
As hard as it is to see summer come to an end, I always welcome the arrival of fall. My most favorite season of all. I love everything about the fall, from the holidays to the leaves and colors and crisp air. And pumpkins… ohmyword, how I love pumpkins.

AudreyPettit Sizzix PumpkinPartsPillowTucks3
Some of my happiest memories involve going to the pumpkin patch in my small rural town when I was a child. Yes, a real pumpkin patch, several acres wide, filled with pumpkins as far as the eye could see. Picking the right pumpkin was a serious process in my family. No hasty choices were allowed. You had to survey the field, narrow down the possibilities, and then make the final decision. My mom always wanted us to pick the oddballs, the weird, and the unusual. But me, I always wanted the perfect round orange beauty.

This weekend, I crafted up some sweet little pillow tucks, topped with the most perfect round orange pumpkin of them all. Such an easy process when you have a die to do all the work for you. I’ve got a quick tutorial to share with you, so let’s take a closer look.

AudreyPettit Sizzix PumpkinPartsPillowTucksTut11. Gather your supplies. You’ll need fabrics for the pillow backing, as well as the pumpkin, and the Pumpkin Parts Bigz die by Sizzix and Tim Holtz.

2. Die cut the pumpkin shape from orange and green fabrics. I used my favorite fabric from the Crossroads Denim collection by Indygo Junction. Since the Pumpkin Parts die is a Bigz steel-rule die, it cuts through heavier materials, like fabric, like a dream. Simply place your fabric pieces on top of the die, sandwich the die between two Standard Cutting Plates, and run the die through your die cutting machine.

3. Here are all the individual pieces from the die. The stem from green fabric, and the body and sections of the pumpkin from orange.

4. Assemble the individual pieces. I like to place a small amount of tacky glue on the back of the pieces to hold them in place.

AudreyPettit Sizzix PumpkinPartsPillowTucks Tut21. Fold the pillow backing fabric in half, with the right sides facing. Pin pillow pattern to the fabric. I created a simple rectangular pattern that was slightly larger than the size of the pumpkin from a piece of copy paper. Cut out the pattern.

2. Adhere or pin the pumpkin to the center of the front of the pillow backing. Blanket stitch around the edges of each section of the pumpkin.

3. Using the pillow pattern, cut two pieces of Therm O Web Stitch n’ Sew fleece. Put the pillow front and pillow back together, with right sides facing. Sandwich the pillow pieces between the two pieces of fleece, and pin together. Machine stitch around the edges of the pillow, leaving an opening ~ 2″ wide for turning.

4. Turn the pillows right side out. Add a button and a small piece of curly-q twine to the top of the pumpkin. (To get your twine to curl, dip a length of twine in tacky glue and then wrap it around a straw or skewer. Once the glue dries, the twine can easily be removed, yet retains its shape.) Stuff the pillows with poly-fill fiber, and whip stitch the openings closed.

AudreyPettit Sizzix PumpkinPartsPillowTucks2
Happy Monday, Friends!

P.S.-   my Fall Shop opens this Thursday, September 1st at 12:00 noon EST.
I’m sharing sneak peeks all week on my AudOnes Prims Facebook Page! Hope you’ll come join in on the fun!


The supplies I’ve used are linked and/or listed below:

Tim Holtz Sizzix Die PUMPKIN PARTS Bigz 660031*May Arts NATURAL Twine String BurlapStitchnSew Fleece Sew-In High Loft (White 45 in. d/f x 1 Yard pack) pictureSizzix - Big Shot Plus Machine - White and GraySizzix Big Shot Kick STANDARD CUTTING PADS 1 Pair 655093

Fabric for pumpkins: Crossroads Denim Collection by Indygo Junction
Floss: DMC
Other: Buttons, Burlap Fabric, Poly-fill Fiber Stuffing, Tacky Glue

17 thoughts on “Pumpkin Parts Pillow Tucks with Sizzix- a Tutorial

  1. These are so perfect for fall! And they will look great displayed with a few of your other goodies. Can’t wait to see what you’ve been working on for fall!

  2. Adorable pumpkin pillows! Love the bright orange and the button. These are perfect for fall! (There is nothing like a real pumpkin patch to get your pumpkins. I haven’t been to one in years!)

  3. pure joy!
    absolutely love your wee pumpkin pillows, Audrey!
    When my gang was young, we would go on an annual
    pumpkin hunt the first sunday in oct…driving all around the countryside
    looking for the perfect pumpkins! Such great memories!

  4. Perfect pumpkins! I’m with you on the Fall fave season. Love the colors and motifs and really enjoy creating this time of year. Neat that you can use your dies for fabric!

  5. SO-oooo CUTE!! Love these little pillows, Audrey! First time back visiting here in quite a while, and sure enough, you have something downright adorable to share!! Hope you’ve been enjoying a wonderful Summer! ~tina

  6. GENIUS! you are just GENIUS Audrey!
    I love them to bits!
    Thanks so much for sharing the step by step too 😉
    Hugs~

  7. Your pumpkin patch of pillows made me smile! They are adorable! And I love going to the pumpkin farms here in Washington to get pumpkins each year! I am like you and like the perfect round ones! My son likes them talk and HUGE! Hugs and happy fall! 🙂

Leave a Reply

