Crazy Cats Happy Birthday with Ranger Ink

Hello, Friends!

You’ve all seen them by now, right? Tim Holtz’s new Crazy Cats line?  You know I couldn’t resist them. Not after all the fun I’ve had with those silly birds. Today I have a fun and funky Crazy Cats birthday card and tutorial to share featuring the new Distress Collage Mediums over on the
Ranger Ink blog
.

Crazy Cats Happy Birthday Card by Audrey Pettit | www.rangerink.com

These cats have such fun expressions. And I love that there are matching dies for all the characters, including detail dies for layering individual pieces. Look at how close the dies cut to the images. It really is pretty amazing.

AudreyPettit Ranger CrazyCatsHappyBirthday2

I added my cats against a bright Distress background, made with stamps, Distress Inks, and the new Collage Mediums. There’s crackle effects on the cats’ eyes and lots of Vintage medium added to the edges of the papers and painted directly onto the cats themselves.

AudreyPettit Ranger CrazyCatsHappyBirthday3
The background is made from Tim’s Wallpaper background stamp, and I love the whole Victorian parlor feel to this design. I can so see some crazy old cat lady sitting in there with all her crazy cats.  I added in lots of bold black for good contrast, and touches of gold for a shabby elegant feel. And love how the collage mediums add an instant time-worn look to every surface.

AudreyPettit Ranger CrazyCatsHappyBirthday4
They do make me smile, those scrawny cats. I’ve got the full tutorial up on the Ranger blog, if you’d like to learn more.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend!

14 thoughts on “Crazy Cats Happy Birthday with Ranger Ink

  1. Love your card with the quirky cats, Audrey! Their expressions are too funny! Awesome purple background and great design, too!!

  2. OH my!!! How cute are these stamps! Love these and the chefs and the birds! Going to have to find them and get some! Fabulous card!

  3. LOL I’m sure you like these cats so much because they are right in line with some of your quirky handmade critters. hee hee Totally cool way to create the background. Lots of fun! Hugs!

  4. Fantastic card Audrey!
    I love the way you did these cats and your background is simply amazing!
    Thank You!

Leave a Reply

