A Vintage Valentine

Happy February! It’s the month for love and Valentines, so today I have a sweet and shabby work of heart to share with you. A little fabric project, made with a few of my favorite things.

AudOnes ButtonHeartTuck
I’m sure it’s no secret that I love vintage things. Awhile back, a friend gifted me her collection of vintage buttons. And ohmyword, how I love those buttons. I’m not quite sure how a simple bag of buttons could evoke such feelings of nostalgia and home and grandmothers and simpler times… but they do. Perfect for a little “from the heart” project like this.

AudOnes ButtonHeartTuck2
One lesson I learned from both my grandmothers is to not let anything go to waste. So when I saw a small pile of leftover fabric scraps on my desk that I couldn’t bring myself to throw away, a challenge was issued. And this is what I made. Some sweet pink hearts, outlined with vintage pearl buttons, and topped with a vintage-inspired millinery flower made with dies from my dear friend, Tammy Tutterow‘s, new die collection with Spellbinders. This flower is made from her new Shabby Posies die set, die cut from buckram fabric and dyed with Distress Ink. I think I want these flowers in every color!

AudOnes ButtonHeartTuck3
Just a happy project, made from leftovers and vintage treasures, both. A cute little pillow tuck or pin keep.

They are available now, in my Winter Shop, in case you’re interested!

Thanks for stopping by. Wishing you all a wonderful day!

15 thoughts on “A Vintage Valentine

  1. Oh my Audrey!
    Just seeing you beautiful banner and these darling pink hearts make me so excited it is February! I love the tones, so soft so fresh and of course, as always, your project is so creative and unique!!
    Thanks~

  2. Oh my, I love these, Audrey! I agree regarding the buttons. A friend gave me two jars of buttons she got at an antique store, and I treasure them. I’ve been meaning to ask, do you accept checks or money order in your shop?

  3. Beautiful! I love old buttons, too. I got a jar of buttons my mom had for as long as I can remember. I just love them. I even have some that were made for baby clothes. So tiny. These hearts are so pretty. They make me feel so warm and fuzzy.

  4. I saw these gems already on IG. They are gorgeous! What impresses me is that you are able to create in a wide variety of styles and designs. I am a fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

