Matchbook Valentine’s with BasicGrey

SUN_blog_header

Hello, hello! Happy Friday, my friends! I have a little Valentine project to share with you today. Some sweet mini Valentine notecards that I made for BasicGrey using their adorable Sunkissed collection.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed JusttheGirlsI loved Valentines when I was a kid. I think my favorite were the interactive kind, with a hidden surprise inside. These matchbook-style Valentines are perfect for adding that extra element of fun to your kids’ classroom cards this year. I think they will get a kick out of clipping and removing the clothespins and die cuts up top, and tucking and un-tucking the top flap, too.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed JusttheGirls2And the best thing is, these little cards are so easy to create, even for kids. Just simple tri-fold cards, secured at the bottom with a staple. The top of the card slips behind the bottom flap to stay in place, and easily flips up to reveal the inside.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed JusttheGirls3

I added several layers of Sunkissed patterned papers to the front of the card, and a few strips across the bottom flap. Twine from the embellishment pack was wrapped around the front flap of the card and through a die cut tag. Cut a small slit in the top fold of the card for the twine to pass through. Then dress up the front with additional accents like die cuts, clothespins, and sequins.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed JusttheGirls4

Open the card to reveal a secret message inside. Or, this is a great spot to attach a small piece of candy, a sticker, or a temporary tattoo.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed MainSqueezeI used the same design to create a boy Valentine, too. By changing out the papers and accents, you can get a whole different look from the same design. I stuck with a blue, grey, and yellow color scheme for my boy look, and added die cut tickets and labels for a more masculine feel.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed MainSqueeze2Love the main squeeze lemon image here. Riddles and jokes and puns were always a favorite with classroom cards.

AudreyPettit BG Sunkissed MainSqueeze3

I’ve got more details and information on creating these matchbook cards up on the BasicGrey blog, if you’d like to learn more. And unfortunately, this is my last post for BasicGrey.

I’m sure I’m not the only one surprised and saddened to hear their news this week. After twelve years in the industry, BasicGrey is leaving the scrapbooking world. They have always been one of my absolute top favorite companies, and I am going to miss them terribly. Another loss for the scrapbooking community.

To every thing there is a season…..

Thanks for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful weekend.


BasicGrey SUN KISSED 12 x 12 Paper Collection Pack CSUN4975*Fiskars - Border Punch - Scallop SentimentAdvantus - Tim Holtz - Idea-ology - Tiny Attacher with 100 Tiny Staples

15 thoughts on “Matchbook Valentine’s with BasicGrey

  1. This is a very sweet card. I was surprised at Basic Grey’s announcement also, but I think they started to veer away from the types of designs I used to love. Hopefully another new company will be there to fill the void.

  2. Those are adorable! Loving the matchbook design too. So sorry to hear about BG. When I was a consultant for MW they were my fave brand that MW carried. I have so many BG pages and projects. Glad they are keeping up with the fabrics though.

  3. Oh no I hadn’t heard that! 😦 I sure will miss your projects for them. Your little matchbook Valentines are adorable. I love the little lady on the first one. She makes me think of the nesting dolls. Sending big hugs!

  4. I was just thinking I needed to figure out what I was doing for my kids valentine’s this year and this is perfect! Love the boy ones! Those little clothes pins could hold candy, too!
    Thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

