CHA 2016- Let’s Party with Simple Stories

Hello Friends, Happy Monday! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend, and that those of you on the East Coast are keeping warm and safe through winter storm, Jonas. We were at the bottom tail end of the snow and ice here in North Carolina. Schools are closed, and there’s still ice on the roads and power outages…. but I managed to escape it all. Because this weekend I was in Myrtle Beach with my gang of crafty girlfriends on our annual scrapbooking beach retreat. We got there just before the snow started, and left well after the worst had come through. Almost like we planned it! Now how lucky is that?

I don’t usually get too much done at crops, but I did manage to make a dent in replenishing my depleted stash of thank you and birthday cards, and even took a bite out of my Christmas cards for this year. I don’t think I’ve ever made a Christmas card in January before, nor been this on the ball. They’ll probably be the last cards I accomplish before December, but hey….. I’m already ahead of the game.

AudreyPettit LetsParty HipHipHooray
Today I have more CHA projects to share. This time, a pair of his and hers birthday cards I made for Simple Stories featuring their adorable new party collection, Let’s Party.

AudreyPettit LetsParty HipHipHooray2
Let’s Party is truly such a fun line, and as a card-maker, I was super happy to see a birthday-themed collection… cause as we all know, everybody needs birthday cards. I made a matching set for both a boy and a girl, using a similar style on both. Works great all on their own, or makes a perfect gift set to give or to keep.

AudreyPettit LetsParty HipHipHooray3
I adore the chipboard frames, so of course I used them on both cards to create a little birthday scene using lots of die cuts pieces and clear photo stickers.

AudreyPettit LetsParty SpecialDayCard
I replaced the bow and added a few enamel dots on the boy card for a more masculine feel.

AudreyPettit LetsParty SpecialDayCard2
Used some machine stitching and a bit darker color scheme, too.

AudreyPettit LetsParty SpecialDayCard3
I’ve got more details and information on these projects up on the Simple Stories blog, if you’d like to learn more. And on that note, I have a few more Simple Stories CHA projects to share, but this is my last post on the Simple Stories blog. My year term with them has come to a close, and with their new planner line and pocket pages to promote, they’re stepping away from cards for awhile.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Keep safe, all you East Coasters!

16 thoughts on “CHA 2016- Let’s Party with Simple Stories

  1. Gorgeous cards Audrey!
    I’m so glad you cold escape it all and have a great week-end with your Friends!
    What a fab’ bunch, love the tee-shirts!!
    Hugs~

  2. Glad you missed the worst of the storm. Sounds like a great reatreat. Love these cards! You are the Queen of Layering! These colors are so bright and cheery and really do say “party”. Your stitching always adds just that extra touch of special sauce!

  3. These are adorable! Such fun cards for boys and girls. Love the papers. Sorry they are shying away from cards. They are losing one of their greatest assets, you! Now you can have a little more time for decorating. We all know you love doing that!lol

  4. Glad you were able to get away and have great fun at the crop! What a great pic of all the ladies! And, your cards are “total cuteness” with the girl/boy cards!

  5. Pretty colourful cards Audrey! Your retreat sounds simply wonderful! What a fabulous photo of you all! (looking sooooo happy!) I’ve been away in the warmth… only to come home to raging bushfires. We’ve even had pilots from Canada here to help with the water bombing! And on the flip side – the big snow storms in the USA
    Ahh, how strange our weather is behaving the last couple of years.

  6. Good to hear you were safe and ejoyed a getaway with your crafty friends ( I am bit jealous; a little getaway like this sounds like a piece of heaven….) I love these birthday cards made with Simple Stories. The girly card made me smile and the masculine card is modern with a fun twist. Fab cards Audrey!

  7. Aren’t those little people just the cutest. Those red pigtails just make me grin. You’ve used the bits and pieces in such fun ways. I really like the chipboard frames for your layering style. 🙂 Can’t think of a more fun way to wile away the time during a snow storm. Glad you had fun.

  8. Such fun cards! Love the “scenes” you created!

    P/s: Glad you got lucky with the weather and got sooooo much done too! Always good to be ahead in the Christmas card department. *winks*

Leave a Reply

