Paper Poinsettias with BasicGrey

TYP_blog_header

Hello, my friends! Happy Wednesday! It’s a big, big day here at my house, as my parents arrive late tonight for a nice long holiday visit. Seems like I’ve been going a hundred miles-a-minute trying to get ready, but the house looks like a disaster. Between the decorating stuff, and the Christmas shopping stuff, and the wrapping stuff, and the CHA stuff… it looks like a bomb has gone off in here. Oh, and my dishwasher is broken, so there’s kitchen stuff everywhere, too. Welcome to North Carolina! Let me try to clear a space so that you can sit down!

AudreyPettit BG Typeset PoinsettiasI am always a big fan of project ideas that can do double-duty, especially during the rush of the holidays. At this busy time of year, I’m looking for projects that can add a festive touch to my home decor, dress up packages, or gift to family and friends. And these pretty paper poinsettias, made with papers from the new Typeset collection, definitely fit the bill.

AudreyPettit BG Typeset Poinsettias2Dies have really made our crafting lives so much easier, haven’t they? These poinsettias are made with Tim Holtz’s adorable Tattered Poinsettia die for Sizzix. I die cut several Typeset patterned papers until I had a variety of pieces to choose from, and then just stacked up the layers to get some fun mix-and-match designs.

AudreyPettit BG Typeset Poinsettias3If you’d like to create paper decorations that can stand the test of time, try adhering two pieces of patterned paper together with a craft glue stick before die cutting. That will give your project lots of added strength and structure, in case you’d like to pull out these poinsettias again next year.

AudreyPettit BG Typeset Poinsettias4I added a bit of ink to the edges of my petals using an ink blending tool, and then coated the flowers with a light dusting of diamond dust glitter. Then a trio of berries were attached to the center.

The finished poinsettias can then be used in so many different ways. Tied up in napkin rings, tucked into a gift bow, added as ornaments to the tree, filling a basket as home decor, and so much more. Now that’s double-duty!

I’ve got a quick tutorial for creating these up on the BasicGrey blog, in case you’d like to learn more.

Thanks so much for stopping by today! I hope you all have a wonderful day!


The supplies I’ve used are listed and linked below:

BasicGrey - Typeset Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Type PoolBasicGrey - Typeset Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Drop CapBasicGrey - Typeset Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - Crop MarksBasicGrey - Typeset Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - KernBasicGrey - Typeset Collection - 12 x 12 Double Sided Paper - QuoteTim Holtz Sizzix Bigz Die TATTERED POINSETTIA 658261Petaloo - Botanica Collection - Floral Embellishments - Sugared Berry Clusters - PeachRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Distress Ink Pads - Festive BerriesTwinklets DIAMOND DUST Fine Art GlitterRanger Ink - Tim Holtz - Mini Ink Blending Tool - RoundRanger Inkssentials TRIANGULAR COLLAGE GLUE STICK Adhesive IWT40491Ranger 4 Oz. MULTI MEDIUM MATTE Paint Glue INK41535

 

19 thoughts on “Paper Poinsettias with BasicGrey

  1. These are so lovely – all that glitter makes them look frosted. I was just thinking of FINALLY using my poinsettia die to make some for gift embellishments – you beat me to it. My craft room also looks like a bomb exploded, and our water heater broke last week – I feel your pain! Company arrives this Friday for a busy 2 weeks of celebrations. I wish you and your family the merriest Christmas!

  2. This is such a clever way to use that beautiful die. I just adore your poinsettias. The glitter touches make them look super pretty.

  3. Kirsty took the words right of my mouth! This is a new fave Audrey. LOVE, love, love these flowers. What a great tip of adhering two pieces together to make a sturdier project. Thanks for reminding me to get some Diamond Dust Glitter. And thank you for the adorable card, a true work of he{art}!

  4. ooh, the patterns of the papers integrated like you’ve done is fabulous.. and that diamond dust! wow… I think I might have to get this die – AND the diamond dust! Going to check out the BG paper too! loooooooverly!

Leave a Reply

