Sizzix Tutorial- Beware Spirits Treat Tags

Happy Monday, Friends! Today I have another Halloween project and a quick Sizzix tutorial to share for creating some spooky sweet treat tags made with leftover die cuts.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags
If you’re planning to package up baked goodies or candies this Halloween, these adorable jack-o-lantern gift tags are for you. They are seriously so quick and easy to put together. And they look great on any package, too.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags2
Better yet, I like to call this a “two-fer” project, because you can make two separate things from the one pumpkin die I used today. Talk about your time saver!

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags3
I added a cool textured background to my tags using the new Cobwebs Texture Fade from Sizzix and Tim Holtz, then topped it all with a spooky chit chat sentiment sticker. Love that little bit of extra detail. But in a time pinch, these pumpkins look as cute as can be even layered onto a simple black tag. And that I love even more.

AudreyPettit Sizzix SpookyWishesOrnie Tut10
Do you all remember this Jack-o-Lantern ornament I made recently for my Halloween Haunted House luncheon? At the time that I was die cutting and inking up these pumpkins, I suggested saving the negative pieces leftover from the face for another project. While I had the wet ink still on my craft sheet, I went ahead and colored all the face pieces, and set them aside. And today, that is what I’m starting with.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut1
Here are my leftovers, die cut from watercolor paper and inked with Spiced Marmalade and Ripe Persimmon Distress Inks.  Certainly too cute to throw away, right? If you missed that part and would like to see how I made these, check out my tutorial here.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut2
Pre-made tags are great, but there’s nothing better than being able to die cut your own from whatever paper you wish. For these tags, I die cut some black patterned paper from Authentique’s Moonlit Halloween collection using Tim’s Tag & Tie Bigz die. I love Authentique paper for this because it’s got great texture and a white core that shows really well with embossing and sanding.

To die cut with Bigz dies, use this standard Sizzix die cutting sandwich: Standard Cutting Pad, Bigz die (cutting side up), paper, Standard Cutting Pad. Then run this sandwich through your Big Shot die cutting machine.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut3
Place the die cut tag inside the Cobwebs Texture Fade embossing folder and run it through your machine using this sandwich for embossing: Extended Multi-purpose Platform opened to Tab 1, Standard Cutting Pad, embossing folder with paper inside, Standard Cutting Pad.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut4
Sand the raised embossed pattern with a sanding tool to expose the white core of the paper.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut5
Add foam adhesive to the back of the jack-o-lantern face pieces…

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags tut6
…. and adhere them to the center of the tags. Top with a holiday chit chat sticker and add twine.

AudreyPettit Sizzix JackTags4
SO simple, right? 😀

Thanks for stopping by, everyone! If you are interested in any of the products I’ve used today, they are listed and linked below. Have a great day!


Sizzix.com Products:
Use discount code SZB2015 anytime before December 31st for 15% off regular priced purchases at Sizzix.com. (sorry Sizzix only ships within the US at this time).

Other Products:
Ranger WATERCOLOR PAPER Inkssentials Surfaces ISW39532Tim Holtz Idea-ology SEASONAL CHITCHAT Stickers TH93050Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad SPICED MARMALADE Ranger TIM21506Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad RIPE PERSIMMON Ranger Fall TIM32830May Arts BLACK Twine String Burlap3M Scotch DOUBLE-SIDED FOAM TAPE PermanentTim Holtz Idea-ology SANDING GRIP Block Tool Sand TH92482

16 thoughts on “Sizzix Tutorial- Beware Spirits Treat Tags

  1. These are so cute!! I love how you used your leftovers to create such a great project. That spiderweb embosser look fabulous, too!
    I just got home from a chilly vacation in AZ an UT, so I am ready to get the fall crafts going!!

Leave a Reply

