Quilt Market Deco Foil Bunnies with Therm O Web

Hi Sweeties, happy Wednesday! As some of you may know, the 2015 Spring International Quilt Market was this past weekend in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Like CHA for papercrafters, Quilt Market is a time for fabric designers and textile artists to come together to share the latest collections and products. And like CHA, Quilt Market has classes and seminars, make n’ takes and demos, and lots and lots of booths filled with amazing textile projects.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoilBunnyPair2I would love to learn how to quilt some day, but for now, that skill is way beyond me. I can make a mean rag doll, though, and I was super excited to have several of my dolls requisitioned for the Therm O Web booth. Bunnies, to be precise…. lots and lots of bunnies… ’cause it seems that you never can have just one of those things.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoilBunnyPairHere are two of my silly Market bunnies together. You may recognize the guy on the left, as I’ve shared him with you here before…. but now he has a buddy! Both are made with Indygo Junction’s beautiful Crossroads Denim fabric, and both are embellished with Therm O Web iCraft Deco Foil Transfer Sheets. Since my original bunny was such a big hit, I was asked to make another larger version to showcase yet another fun way to use Therm O Web’s amazing new line of Deco Foil™ sheets.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb IndygoDenimBunny3

Now being rag dolls, I was going for a raggedy look with my foil fabrics, so I’ve been doing a bit of experimenting.  I’ve tried out a couple of different “stamping” techniques here, using the liquid Deco Foil Transfer Adhesive. The first, using the tip of a pencil eraser to create small dots of foiled areas. If you missed that tutorial, you can check it out here.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoilBunnyGreen2
And for the second, I’ve used a pair of wood-mounted stamps to create a fun foiled floral pattern. If you’d like to see how, you can check out my tutorial here.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoilBunnyGreen
So these two went to market, and they took a pair of friends with them, too….

…..I sure hope they don’t bring any more buddies home with them!

Silly rabbits!

17 thoughts on “Quilt Market Deco Foil Bunnies with Therm O Web

  1. Congratulations! What fun buns! I’m right with you on quilting, but am determined to learn it one of these days. These lovelies would be fun to make. Time for you to come to DC and teach. 🙂

  2. Oh, what a CUTE post, Audrey! Those bunnies are sure brought a big smile to my face…LOVE them!!! The addition is the foil is very eye catching…so pretty! I used to quilt years ago. I did finish one large train quilt for my son when he was young. I should get back to it some time. Thank you for your fun post, friend! Those are awesome bunnies!!!:-)

  3. LOL Hope you’ve got room for what comes back home. I wouldn’t trust those little devils. These are so fun. You know I’m a huge fan of your handmade critters. What a treat for those people at the fabric show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

