Sizzix Tutorial- Let’s Explore

Hi everyone, and happy Monday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Today I have a quick Sizzix tutorial to share with you featuring new Tim Holtz Alterations dies from the March release.

AudreyPettit-Project#7-ExploreCard
Tim’s March release is all about exploration and travel, and is filled with fun global inspired products. I used three of his new sets here, mixed with an earthy palette of Distress and Idea-ology to create a shabby, grungy travel card that’s perfect for someone setting off on a vacation, or starting a new journey in life.

AudreyPettit-Project#7-ExploreCard2

This is the Postage Dots Thinlits and Mini Airplane & Cloud Movers & Shapers from the March release. And the sentiment is from the new Adventure Words Block Thinlits set. I added lots of layers of Core’dinations Distress cardstock, and some Idea-ology Wallflower patterned paper and Thrift Shop Ephemera, too. Remnant Rubs add a bit of extra detail as well.

AudreyPettit-Project#7-ExploreCard3
I love the way the world looks in miniature when viewed from the window of an airplane. Almost like a giant patchwork quilt. And that’s exactly what this panel die cut with the new Postage Dots die reminded me of, and what I tried to re-create on my card. I really adore the rich, earthy color I got using some of my favorite colors of Distress.

AudreyPettit Sizzix ThinlitsFramelitsSandwich
To create my main panel, I die cut the larger Postage Dots die from manila cardstock using this standard Sizzix die cutting sandwich for Thinlits and Framelits dies: Magnetic Platform, Standard Cutting Pad, paper, die (cutting side down), Standard Cutting Pad.

P1080540
The Postage Dots die pierces all those tiny holes you see separating the sections.. but as often the case with such intricate dies, some of the tiny pieces may be left behind. That’s where a new Sizzix tool, the Die Brush, comes in mighty handy.

P1080542
Simply lay your die cut down onto the foam pad included in the kit, and roll over the top with the die brush. The bristles of the brush get down into the cuts and grooves, and remove all the tiny pieces for you.

AudreyPettit-Project#7-ExploreCard4
Then my panel was ready for color, which I applied by masking off each section with post-it notes, and inking with a Ranger ink blending tool. Once each section was colored, I lightly spritzed the panel with water to blend and bloom the ink.

AudreyPettit Sizzix MoversShapersSandwich
The sentiment lettering was die cut also from manila cardstock using the Sizzix sandwich mentioned above, and inked with blue Distress. I used the positive letter cuts from the Word Blocks dies, but you could just as easily use the negative space to create some fun and unique title work. The airplane and cloud were die cut using Tim Holtz Grungeboard. Since the Mini Airplane & Cloud dies are Movers & Shapers dies, you will need to use the Movers & Shapers Base Tray and this die cutting sandwich: Standard Cutting Pad, Base Tray, die (cutting side up), paper, Standard Cutting Pad.

I inked and painted the airplane and cloud, then added a shiny coat of Clear Rock Candy Distress Crackle Paint. Added them to my card using foam adhesive. Then finished off with a few rubs and a bit of twirled string for the plane’s contrail.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day!

 

Supplies:

Medium_660238
Sizzix Movers & Shapers Magnetic Die Set 2PK – Mini Airplane & Cloud

Medium_660212
Sizzix Thinlits Die Set 13PK – Adventure Words: Block

Medium_660221
Sizzix Thinlits Die Set 2PK – Postage Dots

Medium_657007
Sizzix Movers & Shapers Accessory – Base Tray, L

Medium_660513
Sizzix Accessory – Die Brush & Foam Pad for Wafer-Thin Dies

Medium_656499
Sizzix Accessory – Standard Magnetic Platform for Wafer-Thin Dies

Medium_655093
Sizzix Accessory – Cutting Pads, Standard, 1 Pair

Medium_657900
Sizzix Big Shot Machine Only (Powder Blue & Teal)

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Sizzix Tutorial- Let’s Explore

  1. You make the best project dear Audrey!
    This is brilliant!
    I love that die too!!
    I want it now 😉
    Thanks!

  2. Fabulous travel card, Audrey! Love all the layers, stitching, and airplane! Such pretty colors, too…amazing!!!:-)

  3. Ooooh…I love all things travel! This looks fantastic my friend! I love the use of the postage stamps die for the backdrop! And love your colour choices too!

  4. Love how you’ve captured your thought of the patchwork ground from the plane window. I also like how you added the real stitching to the design too. Probably the best travel theme card I’ve ever seen. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

