A Deco Foil Shamrock with Therm O Web

Yesterday I decided it was time to put away all my snowmen and winter decor. It’s kind of a herculean task, and one I don’t really look forward to, but I think we’ve truly turned the corner here in North Carolina. And it’s time. So I spent most of the day packaging up my boxes and tubs, and making about 50 thousand trips up and down the stairs. And now things are looking a little stark and bare in my house.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoil WishFrame
Of course I have many, many tubs of spring and Easter to bring out, and that will be the next step. But then I thought that, for a few days at least, I could enjoy some St. Patty’s Day things, if I had any…. so in comes today’s project. A fun little framed shamrock decor made with Therm O Web’s fabulous new Deco Foil and lots of shabby Distress goodness.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb DecoFoil WishFrame2
I have to say, I really am crushing on that shiny green foil. Love the shabby chippy look of it mixed with that washed Distress background. It’s right up my funky junk alley. I used the liquid Deco Glue and a flat paintbrush to get the striated foil application once again. The shamrock was made with Tim Holtz’s fabulous new Sizzix Alterations Heartfelt die. I busted out one of my super old Stampin’Up stamps and a sweet vintage button and twine to add some extra detail.

P1080329
My funky little frame is now gracing the table in my front entryway, along with a few other things I managed to pull together for St. Patrick’s Day. It’s not much, but it does make me smile… I’m hoping it brings a smile to your face, too.

P1080330
I don’t know how you all feel about monster dolls, but we are crazy for them here at my house. The Girls and I have been making quite a few of them lately at our weekly crafty play dates, and of course we had to try our hand at a St. Patty’s version. Here is my guy, all decked out in his finest duds.

P1080332
Don’t you love his top hat and all his fancy finery?

P1080333
I’ve added a few of my other favorite “green” and “lucky” items to complete the scene. A perfect heart-shaped rock I found out on the nature trail one day. Some round “lucky” pebbles I collected from the beach. Nik made me that little chenille froggy when she was wee tiny little.

P1080334
Love having a big basket underneath my table, as it’s the perfect spot for piling up lots and lots of stuff. I’ve got some vintage linen here, and vintage table wear, too. The bright green Majolica plate screams St. Patty’s, without being themed in the least.

P1080335
The paper shamrock is an old, old project of mine, the very first one that I made as a member of the Glue Arts design team. It’s one of my favorite “paper pillow” projects, made from a recycled grocery bag. Ah, happy memories! And last, but not least, here is my wee Nik’s St. Patty’s monster doll. So adorable! She has a great eye for color and pattern, too, and is becoming quite the expert doll maker. I love that she loves to make them as much as I do.

Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! I’ve got a full tutorial up on the Therm O Web blog, if you’d like to learn more about my shamrock Deco Foil frame. Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

16 thoughts on “A Deco Foil Shamrock with Therm O Web

  1. Wow! the shamrock is gorgeous! It is definitely one that looks gorgeous in a lovely frame! It makes for the perfect St. Patrick’s Day decoration…so pretty!

  2. Beautiful display! Love your framed shamrock… so cute… and made with Tim’s Heartfelt die… great idea!!! That basket of goodies down below really caught eye. Ummm… yes…. love it!!!!
    Have a happy weekend, Audrey!

  3. Love your foil shamrock. Looks so pretty in the frame. The monster dolls, love both of them. So cute! But I have to say your paper pillow shamrock is probably my favorite. It’s has a sweet and vintage feel. It all looks fantastic together.

  4. You’ve captured the Irish spirit perfectly is that fun little shamrock. I really love the texture you’re getting with your technique for the foil. This will be a fun addition to your spring decor. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

