2014 Halloween Haunted House Tour

2014 Halloween Haunted HouseHello my spooky friends and happy Friday! Today it’s time to pick up where we left off last week, and continue my 2014 Halloween Haunted House Tour with a visit into my haunted dining room. I do hope you all enjoy the tour!

P1070006

P1070004

P1070005
Those of you who’ve toured with me before may recognize some of my old Halloween friends, although every year things get moved and shifted around in new locations. This year, I’ve placed one of my largest pieces, my grinning metal jack o’lantern, smack dab in the center of my dining table, along with one of my new guys… a clay headed stick figure scarecrow the girls and I made  during one of our crafty play days this month.

P1070007

My antique sideboard is filled with my favorite combo… old transferware pieces and crisp white ironstone. Black transferware, of course, in honor of Halloween. And this year, I’ve added in a few purple pieces, too.

P1070008

P1070009

P1070010
I don’t worry too much about following rules of design or defining my decorating style. My motto is, if you love it, then by all means, use it. For me, that means including lots of handmade items, especially those made by my kids, like these silly mummies. The wee Missy Nik and I made those together many years ago from wooden ice cream sticks, painted and wrapped, with googly eyes tucked inside. The nostalgia of those happy memories simply cannot be beat.

P1070011

Nik painted the skull and bone piece many years ago, too.

P1070012

P1070013
Plastic spiders and skull beads and rubber bouncy ball eyeballs. Some of my own handmade paper treats.

P1070014

P1070015

P1070016

I have a bit of a “thing” for Lori Mitchell Halloween figurines… cough, cough…

P1070017

P1070018

P1070019
so you may find one or two of them mixed in, as well… 😉

P1070020
So there you have it. My haunted Halloween dining room. Hope it gave you some smiles. We’ll stop here for today, but never fear… there’s lots more tour yet to come. Wishing you all a spooktacular weekend! Thanks so much for popping by!

Uncategorized

19 thoughts on “2014 Halloween Haunted House Tour

  1. Love it all! We’ve had those eyeball bouncy balls from being boo’d, and I never thought to keep and incorporate in my design decor! You are a talented little smarty, but we knew that already! 🙂 Looking awesome as always!

  2. Oh Audrey, you have such a knack for decorating. I love the sideboard display! The beautiful dishes mixed with the spooky and fun accents is just such a treat to look at. The eyeball on the spoon…just too much. It would be so much fun to visit your home and sketch all the the vignettes. Love the tours and thanks for sharing.

  3. So many wonderful things to enjoy here, Audrey (minus the spiders)! Love the large pumpkin on the table and the sign on your sideboard. Those figurines are always so adorable, and the handmade projects by you and Nik are the best!

  4. This post is a Halloween treat indeed! You have so many things I can’t remember them all from year to year, so each year it’s like a whole new landscape to me. Those figurines really are cute and I love the fun bouncy eyeballs scattered around. Thanks for todays tour! Hugs!

  5. Oh, I agree with one of the other ladies saying ‘you ought to be on TV’!! Oh my, I don’t know where to begin except……’Halloween-envy’ here!! LOVE your dinnerware – how fabulous is that! goodnesss! LOVE the little spiders, the little mummified sticks and that big pumpkin centre piece on your table – stunning!! Ooh and the little pumpkin head with the gorgeous black fibre dress!! Weeeeell, I could go on and name every piece in your photos! Audrey, you have become an annual event!!! Not to be missed!!

  6. I love seeing your house decorated for Halloween. For the 2nd year in a row, we didn’t put out many decorations. Maybe next year we’ll be in the country, and not renovating so we’ll have no excuses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

