Cozy Christmas with Therm O Web and Simple Stories

Hi Sweeties! We’re working with Simple Stories this week on the Therm O Web blog. I got to play with their adorable Cozy Christmas collection, and I must say, I really love the natural, woodsy vibe and colors of this line, and hope you will, too.  I made several projects, and today I will share the first here. A money holder, and a quick tutorial to go along with it.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb SimpleStories Dec25MoneyHolderThese days, my kiddos are all about the bucks…. the moola, the loot, the banknotes, and the wampum. Especially my big boy, Mr. Pete. So it seems no holiday or special occasion goes by lately without the gift of cash. Not very exciting to give…….but quite happily received.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb SimpleStories Dec25MoneyHolder3One of the troubles with cash, however, is that it can be difficult to package to make it feel like an actual gift. I often do stick it in a box and wrap it up. After all, it is an expensive present! My mom likes to go to the bank and ask for a paper money holder. They, of course are the perfect fit, and can easily be enclosed in a large card. But really, those are awfully plain.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb SimpleStories Dec25MoneyHolder4The solution? Make your own paper money holder! It’s so easy, and you can dress them up or down to suit any holiday or event you may need.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb SimpleStories Dec25MoneyHolder Tut5

The inner pocket keeps the cash safe and secure, while the belly band slips on and off to hold the envelope closed. And the rest is up to you.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb SimpleStories Dec25MoneyHolder2If you’d like more detailed directions, I’ve got the full tutorial, along with three Cosy Christmas holiday cards, up on the Therm O Web blog. Better yet, we have an amazing prize package of Therm O Web adhesives and Simple Stories’ Sweater Weather collection to give away. To enter our Rafflecopter giveaway, simply click here. Good luck everyone, and thanks so much for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Cozy Christmas with Therm O Web and Simple Stories

  1. Lucky you, getting to play with Simple Stories! I love this idea. With grown kiddos I know what you are saying. This is a really fun, festive way to dress up the money gift. PS, I never realized there were so many synonyms for cash.

  2. Loving these papers! I’ve noticed that my kids are diggin’ the gift card/money holders a lot more these days, too. (Though they still aren’t above a few Legos under the tree…) Thanks for the inspiration once again!

  3. I agree; it’s not an exciting gift and it’s quite flat. But dress up a gift/money envelope like this is gorgeous. And lovely to receive. I am a fan of Simple Stories and this envelope made me aigh….wow!

  4. What a fantastic creation Audrey!! A lovely collection too, I really love the unique colors, it gives winter a warm, cozy feel.
    Oh ya, my kids asked for present in advance, LOL! like can I get a ticket to Europe for my birthday next year? LOL!

  5. These are a fabulous idea!!! Love that background paper, can only just see the wood grain undertones with the pretty snowflake…that’s gorgeous and you’ve beautifully embellished the packet! With money encased – what a fantastic pressie, no wonder Mr Pete loves it!!!

  6. Very festive money holder lovely warm colors! Love those papers from Simple Stories and the date with heart! Another creative pretty package by you, Audrey…well done!:-)

  7. This is better looking than any money holder I’ve ever seen! Super cute papers and I love the use of the belly band to keep it closed. If you go through all the trouble to put that wampum in there you certainly don’t want it falling out. LOL Awesome project Audrey!

Leave a Reply

