Winter Wonderland Snowman Box with BasicGrey

EVR_blog_header
AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox
Happy Monday Sweeties! Did you all have a fabulous weekend? Hard to go wrong with a weekend, I know… but I must say that this one was particularly amazing.  The crafty gals and I were off in Ashe County, North Carolina, in the Blue Ridge mountains for our annual fall scrapbooking retreat. Three days of scrappy fun with good friends and good food in some of the most beautiful countryside you will ever see. I got to do a little bit of shopping and antiquing, spent some time on the rockers on the big porch, took a small nature hike, and even managed to get some crafting in. Better yet, I’ve come home with some truly amazing memories. And you’ve gotta love that!

AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox3Today I have a fun paper mache snowman project and tutorial to share with you that I made for the BasicGrey blog using their adorable holiday collection, Evergreen.

AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox2The base for my snowman is a chipboard box mini album from Maya Road that I’ve had in my stash for quite some time. I covered  the sides with two different prints from the Evergreen 6×6 Paper Pad, and painted and inked the rest for a shabby vintage finish. Added chipboard and a cardstock sticker, and wrapped the box in satin ribbon before attaching my super cute snowman friend.

And speaking of that snowman, I made him from scratch, too, from tin foil and paper mache. Here’s a little peek at his humble beginnings.

AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox6

He’s quite the silly fellow with his pointy hat….but so much fun.

AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox4I gave him a coat of crackle paint and mica glitter to finish him off, and a little holiday banner, too.

AudreyPettit BG Evergreen SnowmanBox5
I’ve got the full step-by-step tutorial, including all my tips for creating a paper mache sculpture, up on the BasicGrey blog, if you’d like to learn more.

Thanks so much for stopping by, Friends! Wishing you all a wonderful day!

Supplies:
BasicGrey Evergreen Collection:
6×6 Paper Pad
Title Stickers
Printed Chipboard Shapes
Printed Chipboard Alpha
BasicGrey Fresh Cut Collection:
Pom Poms

Box: 3″ Vintage Memory Box w/ Coaster Album by Maya Road
Photo Corners, Adhesive: Therm O Web
Trim: Craft Supply
Mica Glitter: Stampendous
Paint: Plaid, Art Impressions
Ink: Clearsnap

17 thoughts on “Winter Wonderland Snowman Box with BasicGrey

  1. He is so adorable!!! I love that HUGE smile you gave him. Your retreat sounds wonderful ~ and what a beautiful place to have it. One of the most scenic places on earth.

  2. BasicGrey is privileged and blessed with someone as talented as you in their team. Your snowman is so adorable and I loooooooove his hat!
    Good to hear you had an amazing weekend; it sounds fab to have a retreat with friends in a beautiful place.
    We also experienced a bit of summer or should I say “indian Summer”? Leaves are turning red,orange and gold and evneings are a bit cooler. I love this time of the year! ( Oops I am a bit off track; sorry!)
    Have a wonderful day!

  3. Your weekend sounds like so much fun! 🙂 Love, love, love your snowman box! Beautiful, cute and totally cool. Tin foil – who knew!?! You are totally creative! LOVE his pointy hat and that pop of orange!

  4. Sounds like a perfect weekend. My computer and blogger seem to be playing nicely at the moment. I’ve missed a lot of your projects. (lots of the time I just couldn’t open emails, much less leave comments) You’ve made some gorgeous stuff as usual. (just took a look back) This one is precious! I love your little snowman. Always fabulous!

  5. OMG Audrey!
    I about fell off my chair when I saw today’s incredible post!
    That snowman is INCREDIBLE and I love the box!!
    The whole idea is pure genius!
    YEP! You rae GENIUS Audrey!!
    I’m off to BG’s blog because I would love to try making a papier maché figurine like yours!
    Thank You!!

  6. Well I have to admit I was a bit shocked to find a Christmas decoration here instead of a Halloween one. LOL He is precious! I’ve got to pop over and pin your instructions for this little guy. He is so stinkin’ cute! Glad you had another wonderful retreat with the girls. 🙂 Hugs!

Leave a Reply

