Life is Good with Sizzix

Hello Sweeties! Happy Friday! I am up on the Sizzix blog today with a fall-inspired project and tutorial, and I wanted to share a peek of it here with you, too.

AudreyPettit Sizzix LifeisGoodTag

You all may remember that it was my boy’s birthday earlier this month. And you all know me by now, that means a fun packing idea was in order. Since Pete is off at college these days, I decided to put together a tower of some dorm room necessities for his gift…. like a plate for those late night munchies, a big ramen bowl, snacks, and his personal favorite, the dolla dolla bills. Then all I needed was a festive tag.

AudreyPettit Sizzix LifeisGoodTag2

Since Pete’s birthday is in the fall, it was just the right time to break out one of my all-time favorite fall Sizzix sets, Tim Holtz’s Leaf Blueprint Framelits Stamp and Die Set. The graphic, slightly grungy feel to the leaf image works so well for a masculine design like this. I used a bunch of Distress Inks and Stains to create a fall-ish color palette on my background and leaf. Dragged my wood sentiment through the inks to give it a distressed finish, too. Mixed the stamped and die cut leaf image with BasicGrey Second City patterned paper for a retro-looking finish that blends perfectly with the gift. So happy when it all comes together like that.

AudreyPettit Sizzix LifeisGoodTag3

I love that the Blueprints sets come with matching dies that allow you to cut out the entire image, or just portions there of. I cut several pieces so I could build my leaf image, with foam adhesive between some of the layers for added dimension. Gives the tag a fun peek-a-boo quality when seen from the side. I always enjoy that little bit of unexpected whimsy, don’t you?

If you’d like to learn more about my layered leaf blueprint tag, pop on over to the Sizzix blog. I’ve got a full step-by-step tutorial with all the details there today. Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful weekend.

Sizzix Die Cutting Supplies

12 thoughts on “Life is Good with Sizzix

  1. What a FUN gift package for Pete! Love the Tim Holtz leaf image and how you colored it, so pretty! Looks like lots of goodies in there for him. You are such a sweet and thoughtful Mom. Pete will love it! Have a great weekend!:-)

  2. Oh My Audrey! You did it again!
    My mouth is still open I love it so much!
    Thank You! and I’m heading over to Sizzix for the Tut’
    Hugs~

Leave a Reply

