Skull Blueprint Treat Bags with Sizzix

Happy Wednesday, Friends! I am so excited to share this next project with you. I’ve got some spooky fun for you today. I have made a pair of quick Halloween treat bags using some of my favorite Sizzix Tim Holtz stamps and dies. Now I know you all know me by now, and know how much I adore Halloween. I’ve been counting down the days until I could begin sharing this year’s creepy creations with you. I’ve got my house almost completely haunted by now, and I really love how it’s been turning out.  Can’t wait to begin sharing that with you, too. I’ll take you all on the tour soon. So there’s lots of fun things in store here on the ol’ blog this Halloween. For today, let’s kick off the season with some spooky treats.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyHalloweenTreatBags

Aren’t these fun? And horrifyingly cute? I must say, I just adore these little treat bags. Such a great size for a bite of candy or a small trinket. I’m planning on filling these with some Halloween treats to give to the girls at our annual Haunted Halloween House Tour luncheon. I think these will make fabulous party favor table decor.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyHalloweenTreatBags2

The little treat bags were created with the Tim Holtz In the Bag Movers & Shapers L die. Really a useful die for so many seasons and occasions, as you can embellish it in any way you like.  I added a paper handle at the top and attached a simple hang tag to the side. And then of course dressed up the bag with some favorite Halloween images.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyHalloweenTreatBags4

The spooky skulls and tags were made with Tim Holtz’s Skull Blueprint Framelits die set. I absolutely love Tim’s Blueprints series of stamps with matching Framelits die sets. They make creating detailed projects, like these spooky skull and crossbones so easy and fun. I like to die cut several layers of the images, attaching them back together with 3D foam squares between the layers, for really eye catching and interactive designs.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyHalloweenTreatBags3

And of course these spooky skulls just scream for some grungy Distress Ink and Paint, right? I pulled out some of my favorite Halloween distress colors here, including a bit of Brushed Pewter Distress Paint for a touch of deathly shimmer, and Rusty Hinge Distress Glitter for some sparkle and shine. I added a few ink splatters, too, and painted the crossbones with Distress Crackle Paint, for good measure. Because you know every good Halloween skull needs to look it’s best.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyHalloweenTreatBags5
I hope you enjoyed my first Halloween project of the year! You can find more detailed instructions on the Sizzix blog, in case you’re interested.

And don’t forget, I have a special discount code to share with you, good for 15% off of your regular priced purchase on Sizzix.com. This discount is good through the end of the year. Just use code SZ10B at checkout. (Sorry Sizzix only ships within the US at this time.)

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a fabulous day!

Sizzix Die Cutting Supplies

14 thoughts on “Skull Blueprint Treat Bags with Sizzix

  1. Hello Audrey!

    Oh my! Horrifying cute indeed! hahaha…
    I love your first project, the effect is sensational and I cannot wait to discover what you have up your sleeve. As I have said, you always know how to celebrate every holiday and inspire us!
    Thank you~

  2. Oh my! I’m not usually a fan of the whole skull thing, but these are FABULOUS! (You may have just talked me into this Tim Holtz set…) Look forward to seeing more of your hauntings!

Leave a Reply

