August Guest Designer at Ruby Rock It

Hello, hello my Sweeties, and happy Friday!  I am so excited to say that I am up on the Ruby Rock It blog this week, as guest designer for the month of August. I made several fun projects with their adorable new summer release, Country Cookin’, and today I am happy to share the first of them here with you.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook

If you adore sweet, vintage things as much as I do, then I know you will absolutely fall in love with Country Cookin’. The colors and prints are so warm and cozy, and of course, with a name like Country Cookin’, you know this collection is chock full of fun old-timey kitchen images and icons. So for my first project, I played upon that theme to create a shabby chic, homespun cloth recipe book.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook2

I love the idea of creating a special handmade recipe book to house my top favorite family recipes. Such a book would really become an heirloom to pass down the generations, or what a great gift idea this would be.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook3

I’ve had this 5×7 linen art journaling book in my stash for quite some time, and I’m so happy to finally find the perfect use for it. I simply added a bit of ink to the cover to give it some age, then lightly stamped it with a large background stamp for a bit of extra detail before adding some papers, trims, die cuts, and sweet candy dots.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook4

The inside pages were soooo easy to make, thanks to the large sheet of recipe and journaling cards.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook5

I simply stitched the cards onto some background papers, then attached them to the recipe book using strong red-line adhesive.

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook6

So simple and easy, but so much fun!

AudreyPettit RubyRockIt HomemadeRecipeBook7

The back cover was also inked and stamped, then dressed up with lots of pretty Country Cookin’ die cuts. I couldn’t resist trimming the kitchen closed sign from one of the smaller journaling cards, and hanging it off that cute kitchen mixer. That last little detail really makes me smile.

I’ve got more projects up on the Ruby Rock It blog, if you’d like to take a peek. And I’m also super excited to let you know that Ruby Rock It has generously donated a prize for me to offer to one of you….

1939660_680203648704150_16173656_oIt’s their beautiful Essence East Coast collection…( Sorry, not including the album). Simply leave me a comment on this post, and I’ll draw a winner next Friday. Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! And happy long holiday weekend to my friends from the States. It’s a birthday weekend for my big boy, so we have lots to celebrate!

21 thoughts on “August Guest Designer at Ruby Rock It

  1. What a wonderful recipe album! Love the vintage feel to it and this fun collection! Love the cloth album too! Love the “kitchen closed” sign on the mixer and the sweet oven mitt! Adorable details!!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS Audrey!
    You’d turn any collection into a work of art!
    I ADORE your mini book, what a heirloom it will be…
    again, your attention to details amazes me, no wonder this piece took you a long time to finish!

    Enjoy the long week-end and thank you for the continuous inspiration my Friend!

  3. Oh, wow! What a fabulous vintage album you created using all those sweet die cuts! Love all the layering and detail! Big congrats on your GDT! And, have a wonderful weekend! Happy Birthday to Pete!:-)

  4. FABULOUS!!!! I am loving this collection Audrey, I pop over to take a look, wonderful stuff there, thanks for the link and congrats on your Guest spot! Have fun with your birthday boy!

  5. Wow, Audrey! You knocked this one out of the ballpark! Truly a fantastic book to hold treasured recipes. Love it! Congrats on the Guest Design Spot–so well deserved! Happy Birthday to Pete and a wonderful holiday weekend to you and the family.

  6. Yummy! Love this sweet project. The “kitchen closed” sign on the mixer is too cute. I love the vintage touches and all your lovely details. Enjoy your birthday boy and the long weekend.

  7. Huge congrats on your GDT! You have the coolest items in your stash to work with and show off the best and most awesomest collections. It just turned out perfect!

    Happy Birthday to Pete! Have a great weekend!

  8. YAY! Happy birthday to Pete! Oh my gosh I am in love with these vintage kitchen images and you snuck that wonderful batting in there again. Love it! That linen art book is so cool. Perfect to go with the papers. Gorgeous! Hugs!

  9. Congrats on being chosen for the GDT. They are so lucky to have you as your work is superb.
    Love your card and this paper line is absolutely FAB!! I can think of tons of uses for it and would be tickled pink to win your giveaway. Thanks much for the chance:)
    Hugs,
    DebbieK

  10. GDT … wahoo and a huge congratulations. I would be super-duper elated should I win. Would that mean then I could create as well as you? One can only hope, right? Me or somebody else … somebody will be jumping up and down with joy. Thanks for this chance and congrats one more time.

  11. oh lordy lordy Audrey!! What a stunning recipe book! (All the richer wrapped in linen!) The pinks and blues work with this little album and I haven’t yet seen this range – how gorgeous!!! Congrats on your DT guesting. You’ve certainly rocked your spot for sure!!

Leave a Reply

