A Birthday Butterfly with Sizzix

Hello, hello my friends, and happy Monday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I am very pleased to report that not only did I survive this past weekend, I am actually doing quite well. Pete is officially settled into the dorms and is starting up his fall classes this morning. Although I don’t think this will ever be easy on me, it did my heart some good to see the happy reunion of Pete and his buddies, who were anxiously waiting in his room for us to arrive. Those boys are going to have a great year. Of that I am sure.

Sizzix Tutorial | Happy Birthday Butterfly card by Audrey Pettit

This week, I am excited to share with you a few fun mixed-media projects I’ve been working on recently, starting today with this pretty butterfly birthday card made with Tim Holtz’s amazing new Layered Butterfly die.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyBirthdayButterflyCard3

Tim’s new Layered Butterfly, Dragonfly, and Bee dies are so much fun to work with, as they are big and beautiful, and have so much amazing detail thanks to the matching embossing folders that come with the sets. For my project, I pulled out my inks, paint, and glitter to create a unique and eye catching background and distressed butterfly, and set it all off with a 3-D card base created with the Dimensional Cutting Pad.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyBirthdayButterflyCard2

The Dimensional Cutting Pad has a raised groove down the center, which when placed over dies will cut only the outer edges and not where the groove is. It’s perfect for dies like this butterfly, as it leaves the center body attached to the paper but allows you to bend up the wings.

AudreyPettit Sizzix HappyBirthdayButterflyCard4

I’ve got the complete step-by-step tutorial up on the Sizzix blog, if you’d like to learn more. And don’t forget, I have a special discount code for you all, good for 15% off of your regular priced purchase on Sizzix.com. This discount is good through the end of the year. Just use code SZ10B at checkout. (Sorry Sizzix only ships within the US at this time.)

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a fabulous day!

21 thoughts on “A Birthday Butterfly with Sizzix

  1. Glad your son was met by his friends at the dorms and that the year ahead is looking good! Still it is hard as we miss them so as they stretch their wings away from home! Big hugs my dear! Your butterfly card seems so appropriate and is very beautiful!!!! Love these new Tim Holtz dies!!

  2. I’m glad you got Pete all settled in! It’s always hard to say goodbye to our kids, even if its temporary πŸ™‚ We’ve had them for 18 years after all πŸ™‚ But its so wonderful to see what a great kid you raised and that is awesome!!

    LOVE your mixed media card! The butterfly is wonderful and the layers in the center, pure awesomeness!!

  3. Glad to hear that Pete is settled back in at college with his buddies! I’m sure he’ll have a wonderful school year! Your mixed media butterfly is over the top gorgeous! Love the layers and pretty glitter! Have a great week, hugs!

  4. Perfectly beautiful card, Audrey! Love those colors and the shine. Enjoyed your tutorial over at Sizzix. Tim’s dies are the best! So glad Pete is settled in. It has to be a comfort to know that he is content with his group of friends.

  5. Stunning! I just popped over to see your tutorial and I am just awed by the effect you got on those wings. Wouldn’t have thought of adding glitter to the wet crackle paint. Thanks for the tip. Just glorious! Hugs!

  6. I love your pretty butterfly on this lovely creation!
    Parting is always hard, after the freshman year, I don’t send my girls off anymore, it is just hard, well, I have to admit that dropping them off at the airport does not make “things” easier as well!

    Sending love from Monterey, CA! : )

  7. Hi sweet Audrey! This project is stunning! Love all of it – every pretty detail. That’s one of my favorite new things – that giant butterfly – and you’ve made another masterpiece! Just wanted to say hi and send a hug. Have a great week! XO

  8. Wow, your butterfly is stunning Audrey! such a beautiful card!!
    Glad to hear your son is settling in. And knowing he’ll enjoy the year with his buds…does a Momma’s heart good! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

