Enjoy Today with Sizzix

Hello, hello! Happy Monday, Friends! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend. We’re waking up to another gray and rainy day here. Just one more day in an endless chain, it seems. At this point, I’m wondering who has hijacked our summer, and if they will kindly bring it back..

AudreyPettit Sizzix EnjoyTodayAlteredBox

Today I have a quick project to share with you that I made this weekend for the Sizzix blog. An altered gift box for a friend’s upcoming birthday, dressed with pretty patterned papers and trim, and decorated with my favorite Sizzix decorative strip dies.

AudreyPettit Sizzix EnjoyTodayAlteredBox2

For my gift box, I started with a plain box from one of those big box chain stores. I covered the lid with pretty papers, then added a big bow, thanks to the help of the Bow-Tied Decorative Strip Die by Tim Holtz. This month, the Sizzix team is partnering with Authentique. This is their beautiful Harmony collection.

AudreyPettit Sizzix EnjoyTodayAlteredBox3

Once I had my bows die cut and assembled, I simply staggered the shapes, stacking them together and adhering in the center with tacky glue. A pretty button in the center finishes the bow perfectly. Then for a fun accent, I tucked a few banners die cut using the Tattered Curvy Banners Decorative Strip Die around the bow. I’ve got a few more tips and instructions up on the Sizzix blog, if you’d like to learn more.

Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! I have to admit, this is going to be a tough week for me. The boy goes back to college on Friday. I miss him already!

P.S. I’m super excited to be able to share a special discount code with you all, good for 15% off of your regular priced purchase on Sizzix.com. This discount is good through the end of the year. Just use code SZ10B at checkout. (Sorry Sizzix only ships within the US at this time.)

Sizzix Die Cutting Supplies

18 thoughts on “Enjoy Today with Sizzix

  1. Oh my another beautifully handcrafted and wrapped package by the very talented Miss Audrey! One day I want to be on your gift giving list. (no need for a gift) just want the packing….ha! I always admire your work so! Hope you have a GREAT week!

  2. oooo…la…la…another gorgeous Audrey bow! Love this and would have known it was your work from a mile away. I agree with the sentiments about summer being swept away.

  3. Audrey you are so talented and inspiring!! I just LOVE all the projects you create – this is just GORGEOUS!!!!

  4. Oooh you missed that super moon because it was over here with us downunder!!!! LOL , it was amazing!
    Anyway… gorgeous! I truly would not like to unwrap this little gift….because of that stunning bow! Maybe I’d cut the paper away underneath so I could keep the top part! Hmmmmmnnnnnn…..

  5. sigh…..another amazing package my friend. How clever of you to use those bows to make a flower. Another gorgeous paper collection too. My favorite shades of blue and yellow. Best wishes for Pete’s new year. Hugs!

  6. You must have a special talent if you able to dress up a box as gorgeous as this. Audrey this is gorgeous; love the cmobo of patterned papers and the bow took my breath away. Goft wrapping like this is a gift of its own!

Leave a Reply

