Wish Big Art Tag with Sizzix

AudreyPettit Sizzix WishBigTag

Hello my sweets, and a very happy Friday to you all! It has been a whirlwind week for me this past week, but I’m having such a wonderful time getting to spend a few precious moments with my family out here in California. We just returned late last night from our mini-vacation out in Yosemite National Park, with side trips to King’s Canyon and Sequoia National Park. Besides the countless hours spent in the car getting to and fro, we saw literally thousands of majestic pine, redwood and sequoia trees throughout the parks, as well as stunning vistas of the Sierra Nevada mountains. Unfortunately, severe drought here has dried up almost every drop of water in Yosemite’s famous waterfalls, but the beauty of the area is simply beyond compare.

AudreyPettit Sizzix WishBigTag2

I know I am much overdue in paying you all a visit, and I hope to get around to your blogs in the next few days. In the mean time, I have a fun project and a tutorial to share with you today. It’s a mixed-media art tag I made for the Sizzix blog this week featuring Tim Holtz’s new Frameworks dies and his ever-popular Tattered Florals.

AudreyPettit Sizzix WishBigTag4

Tags are a great little canvas for creating mixed media art pieces. They are large enough for space to explore some new techniques, but small enough to not feel too overwhelming if you are just starting out. Love that you can enjoy art tags all on their own, or use for them as gift tags or decor pieces. Plus, they really are so much fun to make.

AudreyPettit Sizzix WishBigTag5

The best part of creating art tags is simply to let loose and enjoy the creative process. I love to see each layer evolve as it unfolds. No two pieces ever turn out exactly the same. For my tag, I got a bit messy with Distress ink and stain, and experimented with a dimensional pattern-building paste. Then layered on some pretty honeycomb made from one of the new Frameworks dies, and a big happy blossom.

AudreyPettit Sizzix WishBigTag- high res

I took tons of photos of each step, and have the full tutorial up on the Sizzix blog, if you’d like to learn more. Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a fabulous weekend!

Sizzix Die Cutting Supplies

 

14 thoughts on “Wish Big Art Tag with Sizzix

  1. I’m SOOOO jealous of the sights you got to see. Glad you’re having a wonderful visit with your folks. The tag is amazing! Love all the mixed media techniques. Going to pop over and see how you put this together. Hugs!

  2. How gorgeous is this! Love that little honeycomb die! And you’ve created the prettiest shabby look with both the flower and leaves and the background on the tag… Just stunning!

  3. Love the distress look, the soft hues, there are so many interesting and inspiring details in your gorgeous project dear Audrey!

    I’m very happy you’re having a great time out west!
    Enjoy every minute of it and be safe!

  4. This is fabulous Audrey!!!! I bet you had fun on your vacation! Im in the redwoods now on vacation…looking out my window at the ocean! My fav place!! I have to go home tomorrow but I’m waiting until the very last minute because going from 60 to 106 dosent sound like my idea of fun :-(…

Leave a Reply

