A Sizzix Tutorial- Printing & Die Cutting with Bigz Dies

Lately, I’ve gotten on quite the big DIY kick. In an effort to make healthier lifestyle choices for me and my family, I’ve been experimenting with making my own health and beauty products with all natural ingredients. So far I’ve tried out headache salve and achy muscle cream, moisturizer, and shaving butter. I’ve even made my own laundry soap and lavender-scented fabric softener. I have definitely become a believer in the power of essential oils, and I think their benefits are worth sharing. So for my friend Susie’s birthday recently, I decided to put together a gift set for her with some of my handmade products and favorite gentle Castile soaps.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet

Of course with handmade health and beauty products like this, it’s essential to properly label them with directions for their use. Otherwise, of course, nobody would know what on earth they are or how to use them. That’s where my computer and Sizzix dies came in handy. In no time at all, I was able print out labels and instructions on plain cardstock in a pretty lavender colored ink that matched my theme. And then I turned to my Sizzix dies to dress them up and make them pretty.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet2
The Jar Lids die and embossing folder set from the Where Women Cook line was the perfect fit for embellishing the tops of my containers.  I mean, seriously perfect. And I knew I wanted to use tags, too, tied with big pretty bows around the neck of the bottles. So simple to do with the thin framelits dies, where you can place the dies directly over your printed sheet and move them around until you have the text centered just right. But it’s a bit more tricky to get perfect placement with the larger Bigz or XLBigz  dies, like I used here. But I’ve got some great tips for you.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet Tut1

Here’s where I started, with my filled containers, all ready to go.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet Tut2

On my computer, I printed out product labels and instructions for their use, leaving enough space around each for die cutting. I used a pretty natural cardstock from Stampin’Up that has light flecks of recycled papers throughout, and changed the font and color in my word document. You may notice that I did a little piecing with my paper…that’s because I didn’t have a full sheet in my stash. I simply added a bit of removable adhesive to the backs of the cardstock, and attached it to regular copy paper before running it through my printer.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet Tut3

The tricky part is getting the printed text to line up perfectly within the space of the die.  But here’s a great tip. Die cut a large piece of scrap paper with your chosen die first. Remove the positive shapes and retain the negative panel. Place it back over your die, lining up the die cut openings with the die below. Then slip your printed piece of cardstock under the negative, and center the text using the negative outline as your guide. Place your cutting pad over the top, and run the whole thing through your die cutting machine.

I used the Tags #3 and Jar Lids dies here, but this trick works for basically any large die, for perfect placement every time.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet Tut4

Once I had my shapes die cut,  I added a few stamped images for embellishment. Since my products are lavender-scented, I went with a soft floral stamp set stamped in tones of lavender and green.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet Tut5
The Where Women Cook Jar Lids comes with a matching texture embossing plate. After die cutting the lid shape and stamping a few branches, I embossed the lid and sponged the whole with lavender ink before adhering to the tops of my containers. The tags were just tied on with string and trim in big happy bows.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet4

To give my tags a soft and worn look with a vintage feel that I love, I did the water flick trick that is so popular these days. Simply wet your hand under the sink, and drip or flick water onto the finished tags and labels. But go gentle, or you will wash away all the printing.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix LavenderGiftSet3

I hope I’ve given you some fun ideas for your next die cutting project. And I’m also super excited to be able to share a special discount code with you, my blog friends, good for 15% off of your regular priced purchase on Sizzix.com. This discount is good through the end of the year. Just use code SZ10B at checkout. (Sorry Sizzix only ships within the US at this time.)

Happy Friday, my friends! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Supplies:

656343

Sizzix Bigz Die – Tags #3

Medium_659185

Sizzix Bigz Die w/Bonus Textured Impressions – Jar Lids

Medium_657900

Sizzix Big Shot Machine Only (Powder Blue & Teal)

Cardstock, Stamps, Ink: Stampin’Up
Trim: Papertrey Ink, Craft Supply
Buttons: Maya Road

 

16 thoughts on “A Sizzix Tutorial- Printing & Die Cutting with Bigz Dies

  1. Oh my! These are simply beautiful and what another amazing and creative idea you have had Audrey!
    Thank You~

    • It really does work, Patty! I use it all the time now whenever one of us feels achy and sore. Also works for tendonitis and joint pain. Here’s the basic recipe that I found:
      Mix 10 drops each of peppermint, lavender and rosemary oil with 2 tablespoons of carrier oil. Carrier oil can be olive oil, grapeseed oil, or coconut oil. I use organic coconut oil, found next to the other oils in my grocery store, and I make larger quantities to keep on hand. Massage away your aches and pains.

      Peppermint oil is just amazing. So many uses for it. Here’s a great website with lots more tips
      (http://thepaleomama.com/2014/01/20-miracle-uses-peppermint-oil/)

  2. GOSH!! This is so neat….and soooo pretty! Everything is very lovely and lovingly made and labeled. You are the master of beautiful details. Thanks for the step out photos – made it easy to follow along. 🙂 Happy Weekend!

  3. Absolutely wonderful! My co-worker made me some hand made lemon scrub…love it! Such creative and lovely hand made items! Susie will be so delighted!

  4. SO amazing, Audrey… I MUST DO THIS! I love that you’re making natural products, but the way you have them packaged is perfection!!! Thanks for that tip, also, on lining up the tag… great advice! Your ink color choices are beautiful… I truly love everything you’ve done here!
    Have a fantastic weekend!
    Big hugs!!!

  5. Is there any craft you won’t take on? LOL Your friend is going to love this. There’s nothing like handmade and it’s even better when it smells good. 😉 Fabulous project Audrey! Hugs!

  6. Ooooh…what a fabulous and thoughtful set! I would love to see you share your homemade recipes for beauty products…*ahem…vanity…lol*

Leave a Reply

