A Rustic Wall Hanging with Authentique

Hi Sweeties, and happy Wednesday! So glad you could stop by for a visit. I have a fun project to share with you featuring Authentique’s new summer collection, Adventure. Last week, I shared a card showing the softer, more feminine side of Adventure, and today, I’m going to show you its rugged side.

AudreyPettit-Adventure-WildAdventureHanging

Adventure is a very campy, outdoorsy collection, and I thought it would be the perfect line of papers for a rustic summertime wall hanging. This little guy with its “fresh catch of the day” is dressing up the back of my kitchen door for the season.

AudreyPettit-Adventure-WildAdventureHanging2

I don’t do a lot of camping or fishing these days, but this little hanging makes me smile. I may not camp much now, but this sure brings back some happy childhood memories.

AudreyPettit-Adventure-WildAdventureHanging4

I love to use recycled materials in my home decor pieces, and old cardboard boxes are one of my all-time favorite bases for projects like these. Since shipping boxes come in all shapes and sizes, the creative possibilities are endless.

AudreyPettit-Adventure-WildAdventureHanging3

I made a simple pattern for the fish, layered two pieces together, and stuffed them with fluff before stitching them closed. The bit of padding gives them weight and a little lifelike dimension. I’ve got the full tutorial and step-by-step directions up on the Authentique blog, if you’d like to learn more.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day.

16 thoughts on “A Rustic Wall Hanging with Authentique

  1. What a wonderful rustic wall hanging, Audrey! Love the camping scene, twine and fish! Any man who loves to camp and fish would LOVE it!!! So creative and fun…well done!

  2. Rustic, homey, and just plain fun. Those little stuffed fish just tickle me. You can’t go wrong with corrugated cardboard on a project. LOL Hugs!

  3. What a great use of cardboard… love this, Audrey. The colors of this collection are fabulous… have a vintage feel… adore the fish!!!!! I, too, am getting some recollections of old camping trips… thanks for bring back those memories for me, my friend!
    Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

