Here Comes the Sun with Sizzix

Hi everyone, and happy Friday to you! Today I have a card to share with you that I made for the Sizzix blog this week featuring one of my all-time favorite Tim Holtz Alteration dies, the Postage Stamp Frame.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix HereComesTheSunCard

You can see I went quite bright and happy on this one, in celebration of our summer vacation that started this week! This is Authentique’s new Radiant collection, full of vivid, tropical colors that are perfect for the summer holidays.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix HereComesTheSunCard2

Love how easy it is to make layered card backgrounds with the Postage Stamp Frame die. Adds instant detail with next to no effort. I simply added a die cut frame to my card base, followed by one of Authentique’s new Authentic Life Cards.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix HereComesTheSunCard3I have been enjoying the sunburst technique that is so popular these days, and did a variation of that here.Β  One of the Radiant papers has a sunburst pattern, so all the work is already done for you. Just trim out the strips and then space them around the top, radiating from the center of the card. So easy and fun, and still allows the pretty postage stamp frame to shine through.

Thanks so much for stopping by, and I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! Our summer is off to somewhat of a rocky start. The little Miss is sick as a dog with a sinus infection and has hardly crawled out of bed since school let out. And a lightning strike the other day seems to have wiped out my wifi, so I’m having some serious issues with my internet connection. And unfortunately, I am quite helpless when it comes to computer problems….

On the plus side, though, having no internet has spurred me to take some long overdue action. I actually made a serious attempt to clean and organize my scraproom, for the first time in probably at least a year. And although I still have boxes of stuff piled up against the walls, I am quite pleased with my solution for my die storage. Finally, I have all my dies in one spot. Quite the improvement after searching unsuccessfully for a die I wanted to use on my card today.

P1060107

Hopefully I’ll get around to visit with all of you soon, but if not, you’ll know I’m lost in the land of no computers…and no Netflix….sigh

Sizzix Die Cutting Supplies

14 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun with Sizzix

  1. I hope Nic feels better soon!! Sinus infections are no fun! And having internet problems is no fun either! I was so frustrated the last time I had internet problems ug!! But on the bright side your card is fantastic!! I love the pp sun beams!

  2. Gorgeous colors and love the sentiment! What a fun card, Audrey! I hope you get your computer issues resolved very soon! I’m with you on not knowing much about computers. My son is the pro in that area, but he lives 2 1/2 hr. away! Anyways, glad you got your dies all organized. That is one thing that I need to do! Take care and have a great weekend, hugs!

  3. Love this card! So very bright and cheerful. Love the colors and your arrangement around the postage stamp die cut. I have that type of cut on one of my Cricut carts, thanks for the reminder. I have also been playing with the sunburst idea so you may see another “great minds think alike” moment on my blog soon. Hope your DD gets to feeling better soon and your internet gets up and going. Good for you on the organization, it looks really nice too!

  4. This is one amazing project with the sunny colours and sentiment, now I have that Beatles tune stuck to my head! : )
    Awesome to see your tiny corner, I too have the same problem with the piles of dies I have, I organized a little lately too and that makes crafting life a lot easier, LOL!

  5. Perfectly bright and cheerful card! Don’t you just love that postage stamp die? Looks like you found a perfect way to store your dies. Hope Miss Nic gets well soon and you get your wifi back.

  6. Love love love love love this!! LOVING the colors and the rays!! BUMMER about the internet issues … hopefully it is resolved soon!! And I hope DD feels better soon! And LOVING what you did with your dies!!! Looks great!!!

  7. I hope Nic feels better soon!! That is no way to start off the summer break. We are still in school for another week.

    This card is so bright and happy for sure. I love everything about it.

    Your storage solution is great! Hopefully you are up and fixed soon.

  8. The Beatles could have put this cutie to use for sure. Still catching up so I’ll hope to see better news about Miss Nik and your computer issues.

  9. That looks amazing! I love the rays of patterned papers! πŸ™‚
    Getting organized just makes you feel more creative!

    P/s: I’ve been slow in responding to comments in real time because of connectivity issues since the beginning of this year…the irony is that I get the best connection when I’m travelling…lol

Leave a Reply

