Never Been Stitched Owl Plushie with Therm O Web

Hi Sweeties! Happy Wednesday to you!

AudreyPettit Thermoweb NoSewBookOwl3This week, the Therm O Web designers are having some fun creating projects from the craft book Never Been Stitched by Amanda Carestio. This fabulous book is filled with 45 no-sew to low-sew projects, including lots of great ideas for recycling unwanted items from around your home. If you’ve been thinking about trying some sewing projects, or have kids that would like to, this book is a great place to start.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb NoSewBookOwl2I am a sucker for owls, so of course I couldn’t wait to give Amanda’s owl pillow a try. The book includes the pattern, and all the instructions you need to make your own simple owl pillow. Although this owl does require a bit of machine sewing, this project is easy enough for even the most beginner sewers. I did add a few extra details to my owl than the original project, but that’s what I love about handmade….you get to make it exactly how you want!

AudreyPettit Thermoweb NoSewBookOwlSuch happy, springtime colors right? This guy really does make me smile. I’ve been saving this fabric for something special for quite some time. It’s from my very favorite pair of jammie pants that I loved and adored, and wore until they were threadbare and ripped. Even then, I still couldn’t just throw them away. Anyone else super sentimental like that?

AudreyPettit Thermoweb NoSewBookOwl4If you’d like to see my tips and tricks for this fun little owl plushie, stop by the Therm O Web blog. I’ve got a full step-by-step tutorial and supply list to share. And would you like to win your very own copy of the Never Been Stitched book? Be sure to enter our fabulous prize drawing while you are there, too. We’re giving away a copy of the book along with some of our “no sew” products you’ll absolutely LOVE from our HeatnBond® line. Good luck everyone, and thanks so much for stopping by!

22 thoughts on “Never Been Stitched Owl Plushie with Therm O Web

  1. Love your cute little owl pillow, Audrey! And the recycling is the best part. I too don’t want to part with some of my pj’s so this is a plus for them:) Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. ADORABLE!!!! (you know I am kicking myself again, every time I see one of you lovely sewing, I wanted to get up and go make myself one, this one is the same, I just want to be like you!) : )

  3. Oh, my! That is one of the prettiest owls I’ve ever seen, Audrey! Love the pretty colors, eyelet lace, and sweet bouquet of flowers!

  4. Not me, no siree! I don’t sew lol! I just made two pairs of those PTI baby shoes and about pulled my hair out lol! Although after the 1st pair I was more confident and the 2nd pair turned out really cute. I love the sewing animals but I’d better stick to buying them lol! Your owl is the cutest!!!!!!

  5. Just a-d-o-r-a-b-l-e Audrey!!! LOVE that its a pillow! I must have a look at this book. I really have an ‘itch’ to get into doing something fun with fabric. AND also love that you’ve recycled pjs! love love love that!
    Cute little button eyes and lacy dress!! CLEVER!

Leave a Reply

