Sea Shell Memory Jar with Authentique

 

Every time we go to the beach, my Little Missy collects tons of seashells that we tote home and never do anything with. Earlier this month, we hit the beach to celebrate her sixteenth birthday, only to once again come home with another bag of shells. But this time, I vowed I would do something special with the shells from this trip…a memento of her big Sweet 16 birthday!

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar

This time I pulled those shells out of that bag and put them into a pretty bottle I’ve been saving for just the right project. Made a fun personalized tag for the bottle using Authentique’s adorable nautical collection, Anchored, and lots of pretty trim and embellishment from Petaloo, our product partner on the Authentique blog this week.

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar2

I’ve had this glass bottle in my pantry for quite some time. It’s an old milk bottle that I’ve been saving for something special. It’s such a pretty shape and size, and a great way of displaying some smaller treasures, like my daughter’s shells. All it needed was a quick wash and dry, and it was ready to be filled.

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar3

 I made a fun beach tag to hang around the neck of the bottle. I love the look of Polaroid-style frames, so I added one to my die cut tag base. Stamped the name of the beach onto die cut banners to tuck into the top of the frame, and noted the date up above so that we’ll always remember which beach trip these particular shells came from. Then I dressed the tag up with lots of fabulous Anchored cardstock stickers and goodies from Petaloo.

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar4Petaloo makes really pretty trims and flowers. Although I wouldn’t usually think of adding flowers to a beach themed project, this one reminded me of a sea anemone, so on it went. And I think it works. 🙂

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar5

I was tickled to find that Petaloo also has shell embellishments, like the cute designer stick pins and loose shells I scattered around the tag. Now how perfect is that?

AudreyPettit-Anchored-CarolinaBeachJar6

I’m so happy to finally do something with some of our vacation mementos. And my daughter now has a wonderful keepsake to treasure forever!

Be sure to check back at the Authentique blog every day this week for more project inspiration. We have an Authentique Prize Pack to give away to one of our lucky commenters, so be sure to say hello while you are there!

 

Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day.

24 thoughts on “Sea Shell Memory Jar with Authentique

  1. SHUT THE FRONT DOOR! Yes, I guess I am shouting at you…in a happy happy happy good way! My house is full of beach inspired things….that is where my happy little heart is, and you just made me want to come through the screen and snatch this little goody! Love this Audrey to bits! Thank you for sharing!!!!

  2. Oh my this is fabulous!!!! What a great idea to collect these gorgeous shells in one place with that incredible tag!!!! I gotta make me one, every time we go to the beach Mercedes comes back with her pockets full!!!

  3. Well I think you found the perfect way to package up Miss Nik’s seashells. Those papers couldn’t be more perfect for your tag. I’m sure this will be put in a very special place. You’re an awesome mom. Hugs!

  4. oh wow… if this isn’t that best idea… I KNOW what it’s like to come home with all those shells and how amazing you can put such an emotional and sentimental feel to them by housing in that gorgeous big jar tagged with memories of where they came from and why! Just love this, especially the flowers.. the blue one looks like a sea anemome! And love the 3d wave too…
    You’ve given me such a great idea! AWESOME! thanks for sharing this… fab fab fab!

  5. What an Amazing tag Audrey! LOVE all your Beautiful details and how you made them work so well together! Thanks for Always being so inspiring! Hugs, Karin

  6. What a wonderful idea! I’ve been putting my shells out in little vintage bowls, but I love this idea to show off a bunch of them, and that tag is so special. Lovely!

  7. oo, i love love love your bottle of seashells with the tag you made! i’m so into nautical now. such a beautiful home decor piece, audrey! thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day! *hugs* and much aloha, steph 🙂

Leave a Reply

