CSI Special Agent- Case File #117

After a malfunctioning alarm clock, and a  mad, frantic, last-minute dash to get to school on time, it seems that spring break has officially come to an end, and we suddenly find ourselves back in the old routine. The Little Miss tried to use the late alarm as an excuse to go ahead and take one more vacation day today. She does make me laugh, that little one, but of course I won out in the end.  And fortunately we have enough wonderful memories of this past week to smooth out any bumps along the road this morning. Well, for me at least, anyway…

Special Agent

I am so excited to say that I am joining the CSI: Color, Stories, Inspiration team as a special agent for the month of April. Case file #117 is now open for investigation.

CSI117flatThe challenge, should you chose to accept it, is to create a layout using all five colors from the color scheme, at least three clues from the evidence, and one from the testimony. Here’s how I solved the case.

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStoryI know that most of us are pretty darn sick of winter by now, but it’s still a pretty hot topic of discussion around here. With seven days of school closings due to snow, and two more due to ice, this winter is one for the record books. Definitely scrap worthy. And I just couldn’t resist playing with these cutie pie snow pictures of my two favorite girls.

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStory2Evidence I used:
Circles, metal, ransom lettering, rub-ons, chalk/pastels, and arrows.

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStory3For my testimony, I tried to write a poem…..
Please don’t judge too harshly! 😉

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStory4And although not part of the challenge case file, I’m giving myself extra points for using some super old stash goodies…from that pile I’ve left in the middle of my desk. Like the round journaling cards from LYB’s Clothesline collection, and the ancient winter rub-ons from Melissa Frances. The old Teresa Collins paper, too. I have to say, leaving things in plain sight to drive me crazy does seem to work.

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStory5Besides all the old, I used some new paper and word stickers from Authentique’s Elegant collection, and journaling tablet pages and arrow stamps from BasicGrey’s Capture line. Added lots of stitching to the page, highlighted with chalk pastels. Another oldie but goodie from my stash.

AudreyPettit CSI#117 WinterStory6Huge thanks to my friend, Rebecca, for cutting my winter title on her Silhouette. And another huge thanks to Debbi, for allowing me to join along this month at CSI. The CSI Detectives and Guests did such an amazing job with this week’s case file. To learn more about CSI and this week’s fun challenge, be sure to stop by the Color, Stories, Inspiration blog!  And tell them Audrey sent you!

Thanks so much for stopping by. Wishing you all a wonderful day!

20 thoughts on “CSI Special Agent- Case File #117

  1. This is one of the best layouts I have ever seen. I just can’t stop looking at it. There are so many great elements. I think your poem is great too. Awesome job Audrey! Hugs!

  2. Awesome layout! Sounds like you had a great time on Spring Break.

    Congrats on your new DT assignment this month! 😊

    Looks like we now have to stay put for ours. Ugh! Life of the military.

  3. Awww…what a sweet layout of your two favorite girls there, Audrey…so CUTE!!! Love the colors, sweet photos, stitching and details! You better believe we are tired of winter here, too! But, we may near 70 degrees on Thursday…yeah! Have a great week, hugs!:-)

  4. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this layout. So glad I got to watch it take shape. Always amazed at your creative process.

  5. Fantastic layout, Audrey! I love looking at all the little details. It’s good to use some of the old stash up–I’ve got to stop hoarding those sweet papercrafting items! Thank you, too, my sweet friend, for your comment on my blog today. It was a welcome “pick me up” after a very trying day. “) ❤

  6. Oh my gosh! I love this so much! The colors, the layers, and all the fun details. It is really fresh and the photos are great too. I will have to check out this fun challenge. You did a fabulous job with it.

  7. Oh wow. A rare layout…lol. And a very good one too! I love the grid style format for all the fun photos. As always, fabulous design and styling my friend!

Leave a Reply

