Thinking of You with BasicGrey

So far, Spring Break has come in like a lion. It’s been downright freezy, topped with rain and plenty of gloom. Saturday night I found myself driving through a fog bank, in a torrential downpour, with tornado warnings going off on the radio the whole way home. But it was all worth it, ’cause my little scrappy group found a fabulous new place to gather and crop this weekend, and I am awfully grateful for that. Ever since Archiver’s closed, our poor little gang has been homeless. But not anymore.

Croppin Oasis Crop- March 29

Today I have a couple of cards to share with you featuring BasicGrey’s beautiful Spice Market collection, including some of the coordinating Spice Market Hero Arts stamps.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard7I’ve been wanting to make a few cards lately that are postage friendly and easy to mail. So my main goal here was to keep my cards flat enough to mail in a regular envelope. It really is a bit of a challenge for me to stay away from all the bulky embellishments, but I manged here. And I really do love the way they turned out.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCardMy first card uses papers from the 6×6 Paper Pad, mixed with the floral die cut and a 3×4 Snippet card from the Waterfall embellishment pack. I added a simple stamped sentiment and a bit of machine stitching and twine for extra detail.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard2I had a bit of leftover watercolor paper sitting on my desk, so I added that in, too. Really loving the soft, frayed edge and the added texture it brings.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard3After I finished the first card, I looked at the pile of scraps I had left, and had a little ah-ha moment. If I reverse the papers a bit, I could create a second card using pretty much the same exact design. Bingo!

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard4Of course this time, I had to use a different 3×4 Snippet card, but that’s ok. And I had used up the pretty floral die cut on the first card, too. But happily, I could use the floral stamp image from the Spice Market Lovely clear stamp set, instead.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard5I really tried to mimic the look of the original die cut. So stamped the image, fussy cut, and added a bit of simple water-coloring. It’s a wee bit smaller than the original die cut, but other than that, a pretty good match, I would say.

AudreyPettit BG SpiceMarket ThinkingofYouCard6I really did have fun challenging myself to keep things flat AND use up some paper scraps, all at the same time. And best thing is, I actually did put these two in the mail. I really ought to do that more often!

Thanks for stopping by, my friends! Wishing you all a very wonderful day!

_____________________________

Supplies:
BasicGrey Spice Market Collection:
6×6 Paper Pad
Waterfall Theme Pack
Lovely Clear Stamp Set
Sentiment Stamp, Ink, Border Punch: Stampin’Up
Trim: The Twinery
Watercolor Paper

22 thoughts on “Thinking of You with BasicGrey

  1. Yes, let’s see yesterday, we had rain, winds, rain and snow at the same time, and snow, and more rain and winds…and it’s down right crazy, but it sure looks like you have had fun!

    Love your cards Audrey. The colors are so pretty in the collection and I like the twine. I also love the touch of water coloring! 🙂

  2. Beautiful cards! Smart move to reverse the patterns and get two very pretty cards. Your stamping and coloring is so good I couldn’t even tell a difference from the die cut. I really like this line and what you’ve been creating with it. I hear ya on the challenge for the postal friendly cards. That is always a challenge for me too. I could make it just so much prettier with extra buttons and bows, but… lol. Hope your weather picks up. My week off was pretty gloomy except for a few days of sunshine. Today it is actually supposed to get to the 60’s woohooo! Of course, we go back to school today. Have a great week.

  3. I’m so glad you found another place to scrap. Even the threat of tornados can’t keep you away–love it! lol Wish I could find a scrap group here. Anyway, your cards look beautiful. Love the fact that they are easy to mail.

  4. Sorry your weather is bad down there. When we lived in NC (1966-68) the winters were so mild… but this has been a very unusual year.
    Your cards are SO pretty… this paper is fabulous, and the way you combined the colors is gorgeous! Ohhhh, I wish I had a much bigger scrapping budget, LOL. I would buy this collection in a heartbeat!!!!

  5. In addition… I’ve been sad all morning as I received an e-mail from my favorite scrapbooking shop in Fredericksburg, VA, saying they are going out of business. Now not only did I lose my Archivers here at home, when we go to the condo in VA, I won’t have a place to shop there either. So happy for you and your girls to have found yourselves another.

  6. It must be lovely to get together and have a wonderful time. You sure have a long winter in your part of the world; yikes! We are experiencing gorgeous spring weather. In the early mornings it’s still a bit chilly but during the day it’s lovely.
    Oops a bit off track; on to your cards. They are fantastic. Flat and fabulous:). Love the design and this mix of patterns is so pretty. Love that floral stamp too!

  7. Great cards, Audrey! So glad you got through the storm o.k., that would have scared the bee-gee bees out of me!!
    Happy your scrapping group found a new home:). Have a creative week.

  8. You are so talented! Thanks for sharing all of your beautiful card making ideas! It makes me want to go and do crafts now!

  9. What beautiful cards, Audrey! Lovely patterned papers and design! Being mail friendly is a big plus! I, too, am sad that Archiver’s closed. It was one of my favorite stores. So glad to see that you and friends found a new spot to have some creative fun!

  10. Glad your group found a new place to convene and play! It must be fun to crop with these ladies! Your cards are beautiful as always…your composition is always top-notch…:)

    P/s: Hope you get truly spring-like weather soon. It’s so hot and humid in my part of the world…argh!

  11. Bravo to you for using those scraps. Both cards look fantastic. I really like the flowers, both the die cut and the one you stamped and fussy cut and blue and yellow are my FAVE color combo. 🙂 So glad you girls found a new place to play. Hugs!

  12. Im so glad that you found a place to gather! Your cards are so pretty as always, you have a unique way of adding details to perfecton!!

Leave a Reply

