Hello Mon Ami with BasicGrey

BasicGrey | Mon Ami

Happy Monday, Sweeties! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Today I have a card to share with you that I made for the BasicGrey blog, along with a fun technique for creating an interesting paper pieced pattern using only a simple square paper punch.

AudreyPettit BG MonAmi HelloCardThe fun thing about paper piecing is that you can combine your pieces many different ways, using many different shapes and patterns, and create many unique looks. Play around and see how many patterns you can come up with, or go for a completely random mix, whichever you prefer. On my card today, I used a variety of papers from the Mon Ami 6 x 6″ paper pad  to create a fun chevron-stripe paper pieced background that is both eye-catching and super simple to do.

AudreyPettit BG MonAmi HelloCard5

Paired it with one of my shabby handmade flowers and some die cut branches layered onto a Mon Ami scalloped circle sticker. Added some pretty candy buttons and a stamped sentiment from The Details Capture clear stamp set. I stamped the image in red, then filled it in with a golden yellow to match.

AudreyPettit BG MonAmi HelloCard2I’ve got the complete step by step tutorial for creating my paper pieced background up on the BasicGrey blog, if you’d like to learn more.

So this weekend, since it is officially spring now and all, I decided to go ahead and pack up all my snowmen and winter decor. I’m ready for sunshine, and bunnies, and flowers, and baby chicks, and sweet spring things….

But now our forecast is predicting more possible snow for us tomorrow… I guess Old Man Winter is laughing. Perhaps that’s what I get for telling him to go away. Sigh

______________________

Supplies:
Mon Ami 6×6 Paper Pad
Mon Ami Title Stickers
The Details Capture clear stamp set
Candy Buttons- Red and Cream

18 thoughts on “Hello Mon Ami with BasicGrey

  1. This is so fun! Love the colors! The flower is so pretty. Love the candy button too!

    We still need the snowmen here! Snow coming tomorrow! Spring has not come here yet! Temps lower 20’s this am. Burr! Long winter!

  2. Wow! Fab design with wonderful papers and super lovely flower! I’ve brought some spring decorations out, but still have my poinsettia plant going strong…lol! We are supposed to get an inch of snow tomorrow…grrr! But, we are due for warmer temps over the weekend, yeah!:-)

  3. Sorry I’m so late in visiting. The last week or so has been rough for me. Those papers are fabulous and what a great way to make a chevron pattern. I have a little square punch that should work perfectly for this. Thanks for the inspiration Audrey!

Leave a Reply

