Besties with Therm O Web

Recently, my good buddy, Jon, celebrated his big 50th birthday. Of course a special occasion like that calls for a very special gift, and I’ve been pondering for quite some time just what I should do. But when I heard that Maya Road was teaming up with Therm O Web this week, I had my answer. Why not use one of Maya Road’s fabulous chipboard albums to create a mini album for Jon with all the photos I took when he came out here to visit? Bingo!

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum2Now Jon came out to North Carolina to visit me oh, about a year and a half ago, so you can see I don’t move too quickly on things. I’m sure that boy had given up on the notion that I would ever send him a photo, let alone an entire album. So I think he was truly surprised by his gift.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbumI really love how it turned out, too. I used Maya Road’s awesome 5-ring album, which was the perfect size. And with 9 chipboard pages, I was really able to add a lot of photos. Just what I needed.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum3Besides using a lot of photos, I also used a lot of old stash goodies I’ve been hoarding forever. For the first time ever, I actually used up every single sticker from a sheet, including even cutting up some of the negative shapes to use. And I believe that alone deserves a small congratulatory pat on the back. 😉

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum4

For the inside pages, I stuck with my usual plan of attack for mini albums….coming up with a basic design and repeating it throughout the album. I think the whole album really flows well that way, and it does cut down on overall design time. A definite plus when you’ve got a lot of pages to cover.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum5
Papers, alpha stickers, and word strip stickers are from an older boy line from Authentique called Strong. Maya Road Kraft Library Cards and Envelopes keep my journaling hidden and hold extra photos, too.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum6I went a little crazy with some grungy stamping, and oh, my word, did I ever use some old stuff. Maybe you recognize some of it?

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum7

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum8

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum9

Lots of pockets for hidden journaling, behind the photos as well as from the envelopes and pouches. I’ve got all the details and how-to’s up on the Therm O Web blog, if you’d like to learn more.

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum10

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum11

AudreyPettit Thermoweb MayaRoadAlbum12I’m so tickled with how it all came out, but best part? Jon said it was the best gift he’s ever received! Now how awesome is that?

Thanks for stopping by, my friends! Wishing you all a fabulous day!

Supplies:
Therm O Web SuperStik Glue Stick
Therm O Web SuperTape™ 1/4″ and 1/8″
Therm O Web 3D Zots™ Clear Adhesive Dots
Therm O Web Mini Tape Runner

Maya Road:
5 Ring Mini Album
Canvas Tags
Kraft Library Cards w/ Envelopes

Patterned Paper, Alpha Stickers, Word Stickers: Authentique
Cardstock Stickers: Teresa Collins
Stamps: BasicGrey, Studio Calico
Journaling Cards: Little Yellow Bicycle, Studio Calico, Crate Paper, October Afternoon
Stitched Pockets: Studio Calico
Ink: Stampin’Up, Clearsnap, Ranger

 

18 thoughts on “Besties with Therm O Web

  1. What an awesome thoughtful gift! You really showcased the photos which show you had a fun time with your friend. It is difficult to do a masculine mini but you did it perfectly. How great you used up so much stash. Yes, I do recognize some of those pieces which are in my Kraft Outlet stash. Love the embellishments you used with the lunch counter pics. What a treasured keepsake.

  2. Jon is going to be thrilled about receiving this awesome album. Maya road is one of my faves and the way you have used the chip board and all those pockets is superb. I think you had the best idea my friend!!!

  3. This is so wonderful! It looks like you both had a wonderful time that day and it is always such a blessing to have pictures of those we care about most in such a special album. Gorgeous and a great gift!!!

  4. Hi Audrey!
    Before I got to read the bottom of your post, I thought to myself, I can’t think of a better gift! Your mini book is priceless! Bravo!

  5. Oh my goodness, this came out so awesome! Look at all those details…I know Jon. This must have taken you forever to complete…it would have me because I am a slow crafter! So many beautiful and thought out features…time and love well spent.

  6. What else could he say. It’s awesome!!!! You say you repeated the design, but you really don’t notice that with all the little extras you added and those totally fun snapshots. I love the design shape of this album. Spectacular my friend!

Leave a Reply

