Celebrate All Day

I will completely own up to the fact that I hoard scrappy supplies for far toooooo long. Like these adorable journaling cards from Crate Paper’s Toy Box collection, circa spring 2011.
Yes….I still have them.

Accet cutsBut you just never know, right? Sometimes old stuff comes in real handy. Take now, for example….when my brother was young, he was fascinated by trains. He spent countless hours building ho scale model railroad layouts, complete with trains, tracks, and scenery with villages. My dad even built him a wall cabinet that folded down into an elaborate train table, and after that, he expanded into the rafters of the garage. So when I needed a birthday card for my brother this week, these long lost accent cuts seemed just the ticket. Sometimes I’m glad that I hoard.

Celebrate All Day

This card truly is a bit of a hodge-podge. Besides the Crate Paper journaling card, I used three collections by Authentique. The papers are from their new Anchored line.

Celebrate All Day3

The Celebrate All Day stickers are from last year’s 4th of July collection, Pride.

Celebrate All Day2The sentiment is Papertrey Ink, and behind it is a sticker from the new Abroad line. It’s a bit of a jumble, but it works.

Celebrate All Day4

I saw so many adorable designs based on Retro Sketches #101 last week, that I couldn’t resist playing along. You all are just SO inspiring!

Thanks so much for stopping by. Wishing you all a wonderful weekend!
25 thoughts on “Celebrate All Day

  1. This is a great card for your brother. Love the vintage vibe to it. Your comment about hoarding made me chuckle aloud. I’m that way with flowers and ribbon. I made something for a friend’s birthday yesterday and it was so fun to just go “shop” my stash. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I have to admit that I hoard scraping supplies way too long also! I use the excuse that I’m waiting for the perfect project!! Anyway, I love this card. The papers are fantastic as well as the way you piece everything together so perfectly. Have a good weekend! 🙂

  3. HODGE PODGE CARDS ARE THE BEST!!!! I totally have papers and embellishments way older than that, and I, a true environmentalist, do not believe in wasting, so *sigh* I have quite a stash myself. I try really hard to use up what I can when I can, but there just aren’t enough hours in the day. Now that I am “laid” up due to my injury…I am even further behind in de-stashing. Ha!

    This is a FABULOUS card, and great use of the sketch.

  4. Great card!!! I’m a hoarder too! Gosh – I’ve probably have paper that’s 8 years old!!!!!!!!!!! (gulp – maybe more!) I love RS. Gotta try to play a bit with their layouts! Hope you are well 🙂

  5. Love your card Audrey! Your brother will love it! I am a terrible hoarder too, especially ribbon. I have a dresser with four drawers and they are all full of ribbon! Thinking about downsizing some this spring with a yard sale and getting rid of stuff I don’t use. Out with the old and in with the new! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  6. What an amazing masculine card for your brother, Audrey! He is sure to love it! Wonderful train image with banner and lots of stars! My son loved trained when he was young. We still have lots of train sets up in the attic that are his. He had so much fun playing with those train sets! Take care and have a great weekend, hugs!

  7. Audrey… I ADORE this card… absolutely love everything about it!!!!!!!!… the colors, the papers, your hoarded journaling card (haha… isn’t that a normal thing to do?). When I was young, my dad had a hobby shop along with his other business. Some of the men that came in started a railroad club and they built a layout for me in our basement. I always think that was the beginning of my love for crafts. The building of the scenery is what I did the most and it just grew into a love of creating.
    Have a wonderful Friday, my friend!

  8. Let us hoarders unite!!!! I have sooooooooo much stuff still, even old Basic Grey that’s been long gone! Maybe I’ll hold on to it all and sell it as vintage one day lol!!!! GREAT card!!!

  9. I won’t even estimate how long I’ve been hoarding some papers and embellishments for “just the right project”! I think it’s part of being a “responsible crafter” 🙂
    Sweet card – too bad he’ll never know the pains you went through to part with that little piece of paper!

  10. Yes, I am a hoarder too! Of course I haven’t bought too much of ANYTHING new these days so everything I have in my stash is old!

    Your card that you made for your brother is just perfect! Wonderful use of that old product!

  11. Could have sworn I already commented on this. Must be losing my mind. LOL I think that train piece couldn’t be more perfect for your brother. The papers really give it an all-American boy feel. Great card Audrey!

  12. What a wonderful card. My Dad is into trains as well. He has a huge track in his garage. A card like this would be perfect. Well done my friend. I LOVE it.

    Hugs~

  13. What a fabulous card for your brother. I love the colours. And you just have a knack of putting elements together in such an elegant way. 🙂

    P/s: I’m trying my best to use up my hoarded supplies…*high fives*

Leave a Reply

