Touch the Sky

It’s Pinterest inspiration week on the Epiphany Crafts blog. While cruising through my Pinterest boards, I came across a very cool project idea using recycled cans to create home storage containers. I really fell in love with these household containers made from rope and recycled coffee cans. Not only are they beautiful AND useful, projects like these are earth-friendly, too. My favorite type of projects!

I reduced the size of my project by using a smaller can, and added a pretty tag for a container that would work well for organizing household supplies, or would be equally fabulous as a quick gift box. Fill the can with cookies, sweet treats, or even a potted flower for an instant gift.

It was quick and easy work to wash out an old can and wrap it with twine. Small dots of liquid glue along the way keep the twine in place. I used my cropodile to punch two holes at the top of the can so I could add a handle. Then all it needed was a pretty tag.

Stamped my favorite distressed dots onto a kraft shipping tag. Edged the tag with white and orange inks and added a cardstock sticker banner. The flower is made from a glittered transparency die cut and layers of die cut tissue paper. It’s capped with an Epiphany Crafts Cabana Vintage Setting and a Round 14 custom Bubble Cap. A die cut kraft butterfly finishes things off.

For more projects inspired by Pinterest and Epiphany Crafts, be sure to stop by the blog this week. The rest of the team has some beautiful things to share with you. And thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you all a wonderful day!

23 thoughts on “Touch the Sky

  1. Love the earthy colors of this project; the splash of orange is also perfect for a “fall”project. ( Or somewhere in the days of Halloween). Repurposing in a wonderful way. Yes; a lovely gift to receive and a cute storage item at home for all kinds of supplies!

  2. Wonderful Audrey! Everytime I recycle an aluminum can I really do think about what I could make with it, but it ends up in the bin! Now, if I get some twine, I will definitely make this!!! Love it!

  3. A fabulous project! Don’t you just love pinterest? Your container turned out awesome and your tag is amazingly cool!!! I loveeeee it!

  4. Oh, I get so excited seeing your fabulous projects! I love this idea of recycling a coffe can! Love this coffe can that your decorated with jute twine! Sweet colorful pretty tag too! It is a perfect fun project for a little gift! I’m going to start saving my coffee cans! Thanks so much for all the inspiration! Take care, hugs!

  5. perfect….you’ve absolutely inspired me! My kids just gave me an empty tin yesterday because they were ‘thinking of me’….I absolutely adore your project Audrey….

  6. What a great idea! I can see why those containers inspired you and I love your bucket and tag, they are perfect!

  7. Ohhh, Audrey, I’m lovin’ this project! And your tag looks darling finishing this all off! I also have those rope wrapped tins pinned… still need to make some for my linen closet! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

