Back to Basics

This week, the Shabby Tea Room has challenged us to get back to the basics by creating a project using only the most basic scrapbook supplies. For this challenge, you can consider such things as cardstock, ribbon, lace, buttons and brads – basic supplies.  Hand make what you can. Use stamps or embossing folders to create background papers and punches and dies to make your own embellishments. And NO PATTERNED PAPER!

You all probably know by now that I love me some patterned papers, and a project using nothing but cardstock usually frightens me a little bit. But I’m also ALWAYS up for a good challenge. And this one sounded like a perfect excuse to give my new toy a try.

Which I used to create the background for my simple monochromatic card by layering a block of floral embossed paper inside the panel of the Flourished Frame Cuttlebug folder. A soft white paint wash over the embossed areas adds subtle detail to the design.

I brushed the edge of the entire card with white paint, too, and raised the embossed panel on pop dots to give the project more depth and dimension. Cardstock is Buff Ivory from the Kraft Outlet. I love the linen texture and love that it contains 30% recycled post-consumer fiber, making it both beautiful and earth-friendly at the same time.

And yeah, me……….I’m using my stamps! This thank you sentiment is from my new favorite set. The image has a lovely ribbon detail to it, but I cut out just the label and added white paint dots to the frame. Love how you can adapt stamps to perfectly suit your needs.

I’ve been loving making my own flower embellishments lately, too. This one has layers of die cuts and punched flowers. Buff Ivory text weight paper was the perfect thickness for punching and scrunching for a fun, shabby look. I added a bright orange button for a pop of color and vintage trims from my stash.

Not a drop of patterned paper to be found. But I’m okay with it. 🙂

Thank you, Shabby Girls, for inspiring me.

25 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. beautiful card, audrey! love all the embossing and die-cutting and layering. wonderful bloom! love the splashes of color. thanks for sharing! i hope i can play along too. it’s a great challenge for me as well not to use patterned paper ;p’. have a wonderful day! *hugs* steph 🙂

  2. Gorgeous Audrey – I love the colors – so “Springy” and the texture is fabulous! Always a pleasure to pop in and see your beautiful creations! 🙂

  3. You have done it again!! This is simply stunning! Love your handmade flowers, the embossed background and the lace….Sweet,sweet, sweet!! have a great day!

  4. Wow Audrey! You put a lot of thought into making everyone of those elements and they all turned out fantastic. The embossing is so pretty and I love the paint dots on the sentiment. Beautiful card!

  5. I think you underestimated yourself. Just look what you created without patterned paper; it’s a beauty!!!!! Let me tell yousomething:) ; you are amazingly talented…..wow!
    Have a lovely day!
    Hugs,
    Stella

  6. Bonjour Audrey,
    I’m so glad that you popped in to visit me in Normandy today, because it means that I have discovered you, and your wonderful blog.
    I am a lapsed scrapper, just haven’t found the inspiration to get back to it for a while now, blogging takes up so much time!
    Your card is just wonderful and whoever receives it will be very lucky.
    I think that you could just might have given me back my mojo, so I’ve signed up to receive your emails.
    Merci
    Maggie.

  7. This looks absolutely gorgeous.. No DP needed… Your hand made flower look wonderful.. And how fun a new toy to play with.. I can’t wait to see what else you create with it!! Hope you have a great day!!!

    Hugs, Linda

  8. WOW, what a gorgeous card Audrey! The embossing is so stunning on the card, it is beautiful without patterned paper! Loving all your handmade flowers and all the layering, you are so creative!! 🙂

  9. Great card – love the flowers and the embossing! I sleep with my cuttlebug uder my pillow at night -haha! Thanks for playing along with us at TSTR! 🙂

  10. woot ! you’re on the CB bandwagon now ! what fun ! love that flourish embossing folder ! that one got away from me ….

    Wonderful how this card turned out for the challenge !

  11. I think this is one of my fave cards you have ever made! Ihave that cuttlebug embossing flourish and I MUST get it out again! Love how you put the embossed paper inside! cherry

Leave a Reply

