Trick or Treat with Sizzix

Usually by this point in time, halfway through September, I have at least a little bit of my Halloween House decorated, if not the whole thing. This year I haven’t even started. Hope that doesn’t mean that I’m already behind for the year, as that would not be a good way to kick off the very important and very busy upcoming holiday season. You all know how seriously I take my holiday decorating! My friend, Paige, has already declared that she is going to beat me this year at our Annual Halloween Haunted House Tour! I need to step up my game, friends.. that championship title belongs to me!

Audrey Pettit Sizzix TrickTreat Hanging

Fortunately, I have been working on some Halloween projects behind the scenes, and today I am excited to share the first of them with you.  A fun little Halloween number I made for the Sizzix blog using recycled packaging material and the new Thinlits Trick or Treat Die Set.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix TrickTreat Hanging3Aren’t those die cuts fabulous? They are soooo intricate and detailed, they make my project look quite fancy and well…complicated. But in truth, this was a very simple project to make, and I LOVE that. It’s just a base of recycled corrugated cardboard, painted black. The orange background is actually the front half of a Square Window Card Base die cut. How easy is that? I simply cut off the back of the card and layered the front onto black paper with foam dots for a bit of dimension. That cute paper is from last year’s Authentique Halloween collection, called Enchanted. I swiped everything with black paint for a spooky, shabby finish.

Audrey Pettit Sizzix TrickTreat Hanging2

The main Trick or Treat panel was die cut from a sheet of Therm O Web iCraft Adhesive. Once the piece was cut, I peeled back the top protective coat and gave the cut a good dosing with silver glitter. Looks fancy, but is super easy, and I love the combo of sparkle and grunge. I die cut the image one more time with the black paper and trimmed out just the bat. Edged him with more black paint and adhered the body on top of the underlying one. The wings float loose and can be pulled up for even more dimension. A few spiderweb borders painted black and tucked at top and bottom and a simple ribbon tie finish things off. I’ve got the complete step-by-step directions up on the Sizzix blog, if you’d like to learn more.

With this little cutie in my Halloween arsenal, how can Paige possible win? ;)

Thanks so much for stopping by, my friends! Tomorrow, the little Missy and I are heading into the big city, Raleigh, for the SPARKcon annual street chalk festival, one of our most favorite fall activities. It’s going to be a great weekend! Hope it is for all of you, too!

sizzix die cutting supplies

Patterned Paper: Authentique | Glitter: Doodlebug | Adhesive: Therm O Web iCraft Sheets | Paint: Delta | Tools: EK Success Corner Rounder | Trim: Craft Supply | Other: recycled corrugated cardboard
20 thoughts on “Trick or Treat with Sizzix

  1. That is one seriously cool, must have die!!!! I saw the lantern they made at the sizzix blog too and hummm I need it STAT!!! LOVE your creation, watch out Paige the title will always be yours! Can’t wait for the tour;)

  2. Well, Audrey, you’re off to a quicker start than I am! I have it a bit backwards in making a Christmas project first! This project is so awesome! I love the glitter, of course. The die is beautifully intricate. Even though you have a spider web, at least I didn’t spot a spider–thank you! :) Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. This is a serious piece of Halloween art girl!! I love it!!

    OK, I want some deats on your Haunted Halloween Tour! The kids and I love that kind of stuff! And since we’ve moved to Raleigh we don’t know where to go /what there is to do. I would love to get together with you some time so 1. I can meet another celebrity scrapbooker (you are to me!) and 2. so you can tell me all the fun/crafty things to do here in Raleigh. ;) I just looked up the SPARKcon annual street chalk festival and it looks like so much fun but we will be on the road for vacation. When we get back, I’ll send you a PM on FB to see if you’d like to meet up for coffee or whatnot! Have fun tomorrow!!

  4. Wow! Intricate die, indeed! But, oh so very spooktacular…LOVE!!! Looks like you have a great start for Halloween projects! And, I’m so looking forward to seeing your house all decorated for Halloween. You are the winner in my book!:-) Have fun this weekend at the chalk festival, hugs!

  5. love love love it, audrey! what a wonderful intricate die! sparkle and grunge – love it! thanks for sharing and have a great weekend! *hugs* and much aloha, steph :)

  6. That trick or treat cut dusted in silver is beautiful. Sweet addition to your haunted house decor. LOL I just love your holiday decorating tours and look forward to seeing more.

  7. That glitter idea really makes your card pop Audrey. Lots of fun for Halloween and I think your friends are going to have to really step up their game if they’re going to beat you. :-)

Leave a Reply

