Celebrate Today

This weekend, I took a little road trip to go visit my boy. I know he’s only been gone a week, but I sure do miss him. It did me a world of good to see him, see how well he is adjusting to his new life in college.

P1020876

I’m still not doing quite as well on my adjustment to the change, but hopefully I will get there soon. In the mean time, I am extremely grateful that he is close enough for visits back and forth. With only an 80 minute drive, the boy is, thankfully, quite reachable.

P1020874The weather could not have been more perfect for a stroll around campus. I was able to see most of the buildings where his classes are held. We took a quick tour of the library, too, and ended up at the little corner ice cream shop for an ice cold Coca Cola in a glass bottle. My gosh, it’s been years since I’ve had one of those.

P1020871We were a bit comical trying to figure out the laundry situation in the dorm.  After loading up the machine, swiping the id card and unsuccessfully punching in a gazillion code numbers, we discovered that there were no funds set aside in the proper “account” for laundry. Pete wanted to bag the whole thing, but this old mom persevered, my friends, and laundry was done. And I made it up to the boy with unlimited soup and breadsticks at the Olive Garden for dinner.

Today the little Missy has headed back to school to start her second year of high school. I’m sure it will take me another bit of adjustment to get used to the totally empty house again. I hate to see the summer come to a close. But on a bright note, my favorite season lies ahead, and perhaps today, I can get into my scraproom again.

AudreyPettit BG CartePostale-RSVP Celebrate CardI’m afraid the old scraproom has been quite neglected lately, but I do have a card to share that I made recently for my sweet friend’s birthday. A combo of BasicGrey Carte Postale and RSVP. Since Patty lives quite far away, I had to challenge myself to keep the card flat for mailing.

AudreyPettit BG CartePostale-RSVP Celebrate Card2Carte Postale 6×6 papers make up the background. I had fun adding layers of journaling cards and die cuts from the RSVP Waterfall embellishment pack. Lace and hemp and machine stitching add a bit of extra detail without adding too much dimension.

AudreyPettit BG CartePostale-RSVP Celebrate Card3

Thanks so much for stopping by and visiting with me. Wishing you all a wonderful day!

________________________________________

Supplies:

Carte Postale 6×6 Paper Pad
Capture RSVP Waterfall Theme Pack
Capture RSVP Snippets 3×4 Journaling Cards

 

17 thoughts on “Celebrate Today

  1. I can imagine the laundry ordeal. I was telling my son all about the laundromats just the other day. So happy he’d adjusting well, hang in there my friend soon you will too!
    Your card is stunning !

  2. How wonderful he is so close! That is funny about the laundry story. I am sure not so much at the time.

    Love love your card for your friend!!! Lucky gal!!!

  3. So happy to hear you had a great visit with your son over the weekend! He’s not very far away at all…yeah! Sounds like you had a great visit even with the laundry problem!:-) I hope your son and daughter have a great school year! And, your card is lovely! I’m sure Patty, your friend, will appreciate it! Take care, hugs!

  4. Glad you got to visit your son! Your card is so pretty. Lovely color combination. I thought of you when I was crafting this weekend as I won an Ephiphany tool in my BPC for one of the challenges. I always wanted to try one after seeing your many uses for it. Pretty cool little gadget. Now I may have to buys some accessories for this pretty bubbles!

  5. I’m so glad Pete is close enough that you can visit. Helps to know they are within reach! His campus looks lovely. And I spotted my beautiful birthday card showcased today. I love it and appreciate your thoughtfulness, my friend! :)

  6. Yay! You got to visit Pete! Those little visits will make a mommy’s heart feel so much better. :) His campus looks beautiful. Love the pretty lilac on your card too.

  7. Always the mom! lol I really understand. You’ll get there.
    Love the card. I know it was really a challenge to hold back on the layers. But it came out beautiful. Love the pretty colors and the different die cuts.

  8. awwwwww…..such a sweet post! Yeah for being drivable distance from your boy! Yahoo for figuring out the laundry! Go Mom!

    CUTE card, I don’t have that collection and I love the colors!

  9. This is a time of adjustment for all of you. And you are a wonderful mom to go visit him. My family lived 80-90 min away from me when I was in college. You know how many times they came for a visit in 4 years? Once. And that was when gas was 86 cents/gallon.

  10. This has to be the least layers I’ve ever seen on something from you. LOL It still looks amazing. Sounds like you and Pete had a great adventure to look back on later. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

